Criminology and Criminal Justice Resources

When you need a scholarly article

▶ Using our RamSearch Discovery Tool

• Search (almost) all our databases at once
• Good for interdisciplinary subjects like criminal justice
• Lets you limit results to peer-reviewed
• If full-text version not available, provides a partially filled-out interlibrary request form

▶ Using our subject-specific databases

• Lets you limit results to peer-reviewed
• If full-text version not available, may provide a partially filled-out interlibrary request form
• See all the databases most likely to have information useful for criminal justice topics
  • Long list, due to Criminology's interdisciplinary nature
• See the databases most focused on targeted 'criminal justice' content:
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts
  • Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
  • SocINDEX with Full Text

▶ Looking directly in topic-specific eJournals in our collection

▶ Looking on the Web via Google Scholar

• No peer-review limiter; must look at journal's home page on the web to see if it says it's peer-reviewed
• If full-text not available free online, search for the entire article title as a phrase via the RamSearch box to see if FSU has it
• Google may recognize you as an FSU student; may provide a link back to full text in our library website

▶ If we don't have full-text access to an article, requesting a PDF copy via our interlibrary loan service

• No cost to you
• ILL Dept. operates during the M - F work week; no weekend service
• We have no control over delivery time; please plan accordingly