Food Science Resources

This is a free version of AGRICOLA, the catalog of the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (the NAL Catagog). Use this database to access the NAL's collection of over 3 million items, including books and journal articles, which cover all aspects of agriculture, food, food science, food chemistry, and related sciences.

Commercial site. Online marketplace for the food processing industry. Provides links to food industry associations and government websites. Useful for job hunting.

A publisher website. IFIS publishes FSTA (Food Science & Technology Abstracts). Has links to food science related web sites. Has a downloadable guide, "Food science and technology information resources."

A database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes journal article citations from MEDLINE, a comprehensive index to the journal literature of the medical and allied health fields, including nutrition. Useful for locating articles on the biomedical and nutritional aspects of research with a focus on biotechnology, functional foods, and nutraceuticals.

Gateway to U.S. government science information and research results.

Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, toxic releases.

Federal agency responsible for food safety, food ingredients and packaging, food and color additives, HACCP, Food Code, etc., with links to non-FDA food science, food chemistry and food technology sites.

This is the library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The library's collection of over 3 million items covers all aspects of agriculture and related sciences. You can access this collection via the database AGRICOLA, which is the NAL Catalog.

Great website for grains related research. Provides full-text access to AACC's research journal, Cereal Chemistry, pre-1997 issues (Open Access) and to 1997 to date issues (if you logon with your FSU account). Indexes and abstracts Cereal Chemistry, 1997 to date. Click on, "Cereal Chemistry," then click on, "Search Cereal Chemistry."

European based independent professional food science and technology association. Has useful links to national and international government and professional sites.

Serves the food science, food technology, and related professions in industry, government and the academic community. Has links to educational, career and job hunting resources. Major IFT publications include the Journal of Food Science.

A non-profit professional organization for the support of the food industry in
Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts and Rhode Island

Global Food Science and Technology organization. Provides links to food-related databases and information sources of major international agencies, eg) food safety (HACCP), food quality (CODEX ALIMENTARIUS), food statistics (U.N. F A.O.), etc.

AGFD's focus is on the chemistry of agricultural and food products, both raw and finished. It fosters research papers and symposia on special topics dealing with this field of chemistry. Technical focus is on agriculture, ... food composition, food quality, food processing, nutrition, ... food safety, food flavor, biotechnology, ... pharmaceuticals, ... feedstocks, bioenergy and sustainability. See AGFD's newsletter, CORNUCOPIA, for announcements of upcoming meetings & symposia.