LibGuides: Nutrition Resources: Writing and Citing

Help with Writing

CASA

The actual writing process can be tough. Many students find that getting help and suggestions from their professors is the best direction to take. Another great resource available to F.S.U. students to get pointers on the writing process is CASA - the Center for Academic Support and Advising.

Basic Citation Information - Online

Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, "Information for Authors"
Explains how to prepare and format an article for publication. Use with the AMA Manual of Style. 10th ed. Scroll down to, "Manuscript Preparation," and under that, scroll down to, and click on, "References." ( JAND c2017)
A Guide to Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Citation for Nutrition
User friendly. Examples of how to cite books, journal articles, government publications, internet sites, etc. Courtesy of Bob Jones University.
APAStyle.org
Website containing helpful tips and examples of how to cite your sources when using the APA style.
more...less...
Has expanded information and examples from the 6th ed. (2010 +), and from the 7th ed. (2020) of the APA style manual.
Bibliographies & Works Cited Pages
Links to websites that contain rules and examples for creating bibliographies or works cited lists in the APA, Chicago, & MLA styles.
more...less...
Hosted by the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.
Citing Sources
Provides examples of how to cite sources in the APA, Chicago, and MLA style formats. Scroll down for more citation help web sites.
FSU Citation Libguide
Covers MLA, APA, and Chicago citation styles.

Dictionaries: Use with AMA Manual of Style 11th ed. for spelling & usage when preparing your research paper

Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary
Call Number: Check MLN Catalog. Various editions available.

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary. 32nd ed. 2011 CREDO Reference. NO LONGER AVAILABLE. For authoritative guidance on style, usage, and spelling, the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics uses the following resources: AMA Manual of Style, 11th ed; Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary, 30th ed; and Merriam Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, 11th ed
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate(R) Dictionary. 11th ed. 2012 [E-book] For authoritative guidance on style, usage, and spelling, the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics uses the following resources: AMA Manual of Style, 11th ed; Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary, 30th ed; and Merriam Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, 11th ed

Citation Style Guides - print sources

AMA MANUAL of STYLE, 11th EDITION
Call Number: Ref R119 .A533 2020
ISBN: 0190246553
Publication Date: 2020
Request at the Reference desk.
(Use this manual with the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, "Information for Authors."
[see link in the box, "Basic Citation Information"]).
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 7th ed. 2020
Call Number: Ref BF 76.7 .P83 2020
Request at the Reference desk.
Copies also available for checkout in the Main Collection.

Use Zotero

What is Zotero?

Zotero is a citation management tool that is available as a stand-alone program or an extenstion of the Firefox browser:

Create a personal database of references
Import references from multiple databases
Organize and manage references
Store and organize article PDFs
Share references
Access your library from any computer (set-up required)
Format bibliographies

Zotero Research Guide
This guide provides basic information on how to use Zotero, and how to customize Zotero for use with the Whittemore Library.
Zotero Quick Start Guide
Basic information for getting started with Zotero
Zotero Documentation
Detailed information on all of Zotero's features.