LibGuides: Mathematics Resources: Finding books and ebooks

Find Books at Whittemore Library

Whittemore Library is a member of the Minuteman Library Network. You can search for books in Whittemore Library only or you may search the whole network. With a Minuteman library card, you are able to request books from any Minuteman library and may have them sent to Whittemore or any other member library for your convenience.

Search the Catalog

Find Books in Other Libraries

Search for a hard-to-find book beyond FSU and the Minuteman Library Network.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat.org lets you:

Search many libraries at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby
Find books, music, and videos to check out
Find research articles and digital items (like audiobooks) that can be directly viewed or downloaded
Link to "Ask a Librarian" and other services at your library
Post your review of an item, or contribute factual information about it

Request Books via InterLibrary Loan

Is there a book you need but Whittemore Library and the Minuteman Library Network doesn't have it? If so, fill out our online interlibrary loan form and let our Inter-library Loan librarian find it for you.

Online Interlibrary Loan Form

Mathematics - Dictionaries and Guides

Find these mathematics reference resources at Whittemore Library or other MLN libraries:

Concise Oxford dictionary of mathematics. 5th ed. 2014
ISBN: 0199679592
Request via the MLN Network.
Dictionary of Applied Math for Engineers and Scientists. 2003
Call Number: Ref QA 5 D49835 2003
ISBN: 1584880538
Dictionary of Mathematics. 1999
Call Number: Ref QA 5 D5 1999
ISBN: 1579581579
Guide to Information Sources in Mathematics and Statistics. 2004
Call Number: Ref QA 41.7 T83 2004
ISBN: 1563087014
The Universal Book of Mathematics by David J. Darling
Call Number: Ref QA 5 .D27 2004
ISBN: 0471270474
Publication Date: 2004-08-11

Mathematics - Biography & History

Dictionary of scientific biography.
Call Number: Ref Q 141 .D5 v.1 - v.16, plus supplements 1 & 2 [1970-1980, 1990]
Great source of information on mathematicians and their work.

Find these mathematics resources in the library's Reference Room.

Oxford handbook of the history of mathematics. 2009
Call Number: Ref QA 21 O94 2009
ISBN: 0199213127
Women of Mathematics: : a biobibliographic sourcebook. 1987
Call Number: Ref QA 28 W66 1987
ISBN: 0313248494

Government Studies - Free online books & documents relating to mathematics

National Academies Press - Math & Statistics
Full-text of & ordering information for the reports posted on this site. Use the links in the "Research Tools" box to search by topic.
TAKE A LOOK AT SOME SPECIFIC TITLES BELOW:
more...less...
The National Academies seek to inform the government and the public regarding important opportunities and issues in mathematics & related fields. To this end, the Academies conduct studies and disseminate reports and technical assessments on these topics, which are of national interest.
Training Students to Extract Value from Big Data: Summary of a Workshop (2014)
Frontiers in Massive Data Analysis (2013)
The Mathematical Sciences in 2025 (2013)

The Electronic Library of Mathematics (ELibM)

The Electronic Library of Mathematics (ELibM)
The Electronic Library of Mathematics contains online journals, article collections, monographs, and other electronic resources in the field of mathematics. All material is in electronic form and access is generally free, except for some periodicals with a "moving wall", i.e., a certain delay period after which resources become freely available.

Online Books

Search for information on all topics in our online reference collection, CREDO. Includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and other types of fact books.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
For direct links to some of our CREDO Mathematics dictionaries and handbooks,
SEE BELOW:

Online Encyclopedias: Science & Technology

Click the link below to access the encyclopedia.

AccessScience
Online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 12th ed. (2012), plus web-based updates and news. Provides lucid, authoritative explanations of scientific and technological concepts, organisms and processes. Coverage includes mathematics.