Skip to main content

LGBTQ+ Resources : Finding Academic Articles

Ram Search

EBSCO Search Box

Ram Search

Search for articles, journals, and more!

General Research Databases

The general research databases can provide an excellent starting point, but don't forget to check discipline-specific databases as well! 

Gale PowerSearch provides access to journal and magazine articles, reference articles, multimedia, and primary source information. When searching in PowerSearch check out the Topic Finder function to discover additional keywords. 

Google Scholar

Search for scholarly journal articles with the search engine Google Scholar. Google Scholar is connected to Whittemore Library's databases, so an article from your search results should be availabe full-text from our library if you see and click on the link,  "Find it @ Framingham State", to the right of the article.

Databases of interest

Kinsey Institute

Open Access Journals

Full-Text Journal Finder

Many students are looking for journals in full-text online.  The Full-Text Journal Finder can help you to determine whether the journal you are looking for has full-text access at the Whittemore Library.  Type in the journal name or the first few words of the name to see if your journal is available full-text online.

E Journals & Print Journals at FSU

E-Journals:  
Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder
to link to the journal if it is available online
through a database and/or the publisher.

Print Journals   (paper, microfilm and microfiche):

To find a listing of where a print journal, magazine, or newspaper is located (either upstairs in the Periodicals Area
on the Upper Mezzanine (UM) or downstairs in the Lower Reading Room [LRR] one flight down from the main floor in the Lower Mezzanine).

1.  Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder  (see link above)

2.  For a list of F.S.U.'s print periodical holdings (paper or microforms), look for the F.S.U Periodical Holdings List, in the red binders
You can find those red binders in the Periodicals Area and at the Reference desk.  
 

3.  Search the MLN Online Catalog for individual periodical titles.