Skip to main content

Library Resources for Faculty: Library Collections and Course Reserves

Borrowing Books and Requesting ILL

Faculty, Staff, and Administrators of the University will receive a bar-coded Minuteman Library Network card upon request. 

Interlibrary Loan

To submit an interlibrary loan request, fill out the online form. If you have questions on your ILL request, contact the Interlibrary Loan Coordinator at


Reserves for your Courses

The Library offers a variety of options for faculty who want to provide supplementary and/or required readings for their students. For information on in-house or e-Reserves, please review the Reserve policies.

To request Reserve materials for your courses, please contact Karen Medin.  Due to the extent of work in preparing materials, particularly for e-Reserves, please submit requests two weeks in advance.

Copyright and the TEACH Act

Faculty wishing to place photocopied materials on Reserve may do so within the limits of fair use and copyright compliance. The Library has an account with Copyright Clearance Center and, before processing materials, Karen Medin, Circulation Librarian, will seek permission, as needed. Please refer to these guidelines for further information:

Requesting Titles for the Library

The Henry Whittemore Library encourages students, faculty and staff to use the forms provided to suggest the purchase of library materials. Purchase recommendations will be evaluated in terms of 1) their appropriateness to the instructional and research programs of  Framingham State University and 2) availability of funds. 

Suggestions for purchase by faculty may be submitted through a department's designated liaison to the Library.  Please check the Whittemore Library Online Catalog to see if your selections are already in the Library collection.You may suggest a purchase using one of the following methods:

  • Send an email to the Acquisitions Department
  • Visit the Library and complete a form available at the Reference Desk

Our Library Is Part of a Network

As a member of the Minuteman Library Network (MLN), the Library's holdings are supplemented by an online catalog accessing more than 6 million volumes held in the combined collections of 41 regional academic and public libraries. MLN also provides access to several electronic databases; many provide full-text articles. Interlibrary loan requests may be placed electronically, and shuttle delivery moves over 8,000 items to and from the Library annually. A similar volume of materials are electronically requested and accessed from among the 600 consortium member libraries of the New England Library Information Network (NELINET) and the 13,000 member libraries of the national Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).

The Library belongs to a regional consortium, Minuteman Library Network, that allows walk-in borrowing at the 35 public and 5 other academic member libraries. However, please be aware that as a faculty member you have a 90 day lending period only at the University and materials borrowed at other Minuteman libraries will have a shorter lending period based on their individual policies. Information about each Minuteman Network Library can be found at:

In addition, all the 29 libraries in the Massachusetts Public Higher Education system belong to a consortium (MCCLPHEI). All except University of Massachusetts Medical School at Worcester allow walk-in reciprocal borrowing. Interlibrary loan requests are free of charge at all participating institutions.  For a complete listing please see:

Online Research Databases

The Library offers access to electronic journal and newspaper databases containing more than 15,000 titles in full-text. These databases are available in the Library, throughout the campus-wide network, and from off campus locations.

To access the electronic databases from off-campus, select a database and when prompted, enter your network or Blackboard log-in. For students, they need to enter their Blackboard account. Email if you experience problems with access or call the student helpdesk at 508.215.5950. If you have questions about any of the resources that are available online, contact Hedda Monaghan at