Skip to main content

Library Resources for Faculty: Your Research

Research Data Management

For information on how the Library can aid you in research data management please see our Research Data Management LibGuide. 

Grant Writing

Grant Writing Web Site

The Office of Grants and Sponsored Programs at FSU. 

Search Funding Sources

Foundation Directory Online
"Serving the information needs of grant seekers and grant makers."  The Foundations Center grant maker search site.   Please see a librarian for user ID and password.

Other Grant Sources

» Distant Education Grants
» Chronicle of Higher Education
» The Foundation Center

Government Grants and Funding Resources

Associated Grantmakers of Massachusetts (AGM)

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance: Includes links to Firstgov,Grants.govFedBizOpps (Federal Business Opportunities), and more.

Funders Network on Trade and Globalization: The Issue Areas covers broad topics of trade and globalization and provides resourceful links.

GrantsNet: Registration is required but is free. For Massachusetts grants resources, see Associated Grantmakers of Massachusetts (AGM)

Grant Writing Guide in Print

  • Browning, Beverly A. Grant writing for educators : practical strategies for teachers, administrators, and staff. National Educational Service, 2005 (LB2342.4 U6 B76 2005)
  • Gajda, Rebecca and Tulikangas, Richard.Getting the Grant: How educators can write winning proposals and manage successful projects. 2005 (LC243 A1 G35 2005)
  • Gerin, William. Writing the NIH Grant Proposal: A step-by-step guide.  Sage Publications. 2006 (RA11 D6 G47 2006)
  • Geever, Jane C. The Foundation Center's guide to proposal writing.  The Foundation Center, 2004 (HG177.5 .U6 G44 2004)
  • Heifferon, Barbara. Writing in the health professions.  Pearson Longman, 2005 (R119 H397 2005)  
  • Henson, Kenneth T. Grant writing in higher education : a step-by-step guide.  Allyn and Bacon, 2004 (LC241 H46 2004)
  • Karsh, Ellen and Fox, Arlen Sue. The only Grant-Writing Book You'll Ever Need. Carroll & Craf (HG177.5 U6 K37 2006)
  • Miner, Jeremy T. Models of proposal planning & writing. Praeger, 2005 (HG177.5 U6 M558 2005)
  • Smith, Nancy Burke, et al. The Complete Book of Grant Writing. Burke Smith & Works (HG177 S63 2006 )
  • Wason, Sara D.  Webster's new world: Grant writing handbook. Wiley, 2004 (HG177 W37 2004)

Consultations with a Librarian

For an overview of the library's reseources in relation to your research needs, please feel free to make an appointment with a reference librarian for a one on one consultation.

Marion Slack
Reference Librarian     
(508) 626-4653

Sandra Rothenberg
Reference and Instruction Librarian   
(508) 626-4083

Citation Management

The Henry Whittemore Library currently supports the citation management service RefWorks. 

You can: access RefWorks from any computer with Internet access (on and off campus); create a personal database online; import references from multiple databases; organize and manage references; share references; and format bibliographies and manuscripts. Here is information on how to login and use RefWorks.

The library also support the citation management tool Zotero. Please contact Hedda Monaghan at if you have any questions about using or installing Zotero.