Nursing Resources

Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.

First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers.

A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, Nursing Leadership is the only such compendium of nursing terminology in existence.

2014 edition of the American Hospital Association directory, which lists & provides information about 6,500+ hospitals, 400+ health care systems, networks and alliances, 700+ government agencies, and 3000+ accredited providers.

The FolioMed Physician directory is a complete reference of actively practicing physicians. Physician information includes multiple practice addresses; phone, fax and emails; identifiers such as UPINs and NPIs; medical specialties and affiliated hospitals. We have the 2014 edition.

Protects the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth through the fair and consistent application of the statutes and regulations that govern nursing practice and nursing education.

Responsible for the specialized accreditation of nursing education programs, both postsecondary and higher degree, which offer either a certificate, a diploma, or a recognized professional degree (clinical doctorate, master’s/post-master's certificate, baccalaureate, associate , diploma, and practical).

A national voice for academic nursing, working to establish quality standards for nursing education, assisting schools in implementing those standards, influencing the nursing profession to improve health care, and promoting public support for professional nursing education, research, and practice.

Since 1896, the premier organization representing the interests of the nation's 4 million registered nurses.

Committed to specialty that integrates nursing science, computer science and information science to manage and communicate data, information, knowledge and wisdom in nursing and informatics practice.

Brings together nurses from all fields of inquiry, regions, and specializations both inside and outside academe in order to expand the study and practice of nursing, and offer support, resources, education, and distinction to its members.

Advances the specialty practice of nursing professional development for the enhancement of healthcare outcomes. Professional development as a specialty of nursing practice is defined by standards, based on research, and critical to quality patient and organizational outcomes.

A non-profit professional membership organization for Nurse Practitioners in Massachusetts that provides state-based representation and support for NP practice and regulatory issues regardless of specialty or organizational affiliation.

The largest union and professional association of registered nurses and health professionals in the state,

Membership organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education.

A clear, visual, and systematic model for gathering and categorizing relevant assessment data, identifying patient problems, and developing patient goals, interventions, and outcomes for each nursing diagnosis.

Simple recipes with vibrant, full-color illustrations provide step-by-step directions that use readily available ingredients. Heighten the realism in your simulations whether using manikins or live actors.

Examines how nurse educators shape the political behavior of nurses.

Summarizes a workshop convened by the Institute of Medicine in September 2014 to examine a new framework and research priorities to guide future research on the impact of nurse credentialing and certification on outcomes for nurses, organizations, and patients.

Explores how nurses can work to reduce health disparities and promote equity, while keeping costs at bay, utilizing technology, and maintaining patient and family-focused care into 2030.

An essential source of legal information and analysis for nurse supervisors, managers, executives, administrators, practicing nurses and aspiring nursing leaders, educators and students in BSN and advanced degree nursing programs.

Helps you identify the characteristics of leaders and followers and illustrates not only how, but also when to use the qualities associated with each to achieve professional and personal success.

Provides critical information and practical tools to enhance leadership, drawing from the works of experts in business and health care leadership.

Provides content about the conceptual models of nursing that are used as organizing frameworks for nursing practice, quality improvement projects, and research.

Provides the necessary direction, guidance, and examples needed to conduct historical research

Has helped generations of researchers at every level-from first-year undergraduates to advanced graduate students to research reporters in business and government learn how to conduct effective and meaningful research.

Also can be checked out - there's a copy in the book stacks at: LB2371 .B66 2016

Guides readers undertaking their own literature review through the process, giving them the skills and knowledge they need for success.

Presents everything nurses and health researchers need to know about designing, testing, selecting, and evaluating instruments and methods for measuring in nursing.

The largest biomedical research agency in the world. NIH’s mission is to seek fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce illness and disability.

Links to grants and other types of research funding.

Includes a list of Nursing Resource links.

Provides practical ways for nurses to develop competency in evidence-based practice (EBP) by effectively using and appraising clinical studies.

Covers all aspects of nursing research under 25 separate and defined areas, including topics such as libraries and literature searching, the design of nursing research, experimental and non-experimental designs, sources for instruments, data analysis, communicating nursing research, and research funding and priorities

Provides actual strategies for translating nursing research to health policy at all levels of policy-making.

Provides numerous techniques for cultural self-assessment and cultural patient assessment.

Information about cultural factors to consider when working with patients of various cultures, nationalities and ethnicities.

Your guide as you explore 34 different cultures and the issues that you need to be sensitive to...including cultural variations regarding personal space, dietary preferences, communication, symptom management, activities of daily living, and religious and health practices.

The aging and evolving racial and ethnic composition of the U.S. population has the United States in the midst of a profound demographic shift and health care organizations face many issues as they move to address and adapt to this change. In their drive to adequately serve increasingly diverse communities, health care organizations are searching for approaches that will enable them to provide information and service to all persons, regardless of age, race, cultural background, or language skills, in a manner that facilitates understanding and use of that information to make appropriate health decisions.

Information, continuing education opportunities, resources, and more for health and health care professionals to learn about culturally and linguistically appropriate services, or CLAS. Launched in 2004, Think Cultural Health is sponsored by the Office of Minority Health.

One of the nation's preeminent centers for bioethics scholarship and training.

Navigates uncharted ethical terrains, undoubtedly shaping both academic and public discourses on the challenging controversies generated by new technologies, theories, and medical advances.

An essential reference for anyone studying or working in epidemiology, biostatistics, public health, medicine, or the growing number health sciences in which epidemiologic competency is now required.

Provides a vast array of critical information on the 2,100 most heavily used, transported, and regulated chemical substances of both occupational and environmental concern.

"As part of a broader NLM reorganization, most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services." See link to find where former Toxnet site info. has moved to,

Your guide to careers in nursing practice, education, research, and so much more.Comprehensive in scope and for nurses at all levels, each career description includes educational requirements, core competencies, and required skills.