Personal Finance

This site organizes financial education help from over 20 different Federal websites in one place. Content is organized into five categories: MyMoney5, Earn, Borrow, Save & Invest, Spend, Protect. There are also sections based on where you are in life ("Life Events"), and specific hands-on tools ("Tools"). Popular Topics are also highlighted. This site provides summaries & links to resources available at other official government sites.

Sponsored by Visa, the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, and other public and private organizations.

Click on "Personal Finance," link for helpful information on home buying, taxes, investing, retirement, etc.

Bankrate's Financial Literacy Series breaks down personal finances into manageable pieces for the consumer. Has calculators for: auto loan (or lease), credit card debt, banking, home ownership, etc.

The goal is to tell you everything you need to know about money—all in one place, and without the hype and hollow promises that characterize so much financial writing. HumbleDollar is edited by Jonathan Clements, the longtime personal finance columnist for The Wall Street Journal.

Gives savings tips, strategies, and resources to help build personal wealth.

Explore resources to answer your questions on budgeting, saving, investing and buying a home.

Completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA®) is the first step toward getting federal aid for college, career school, or graduate school.

Net price calculators are available on a college’s or university’s website and allow prospective students to enter information about themselves to find out what students like them paid to attend the institution in the previous year, after taking grants and scholarship aid into account.

The Higher Education Act of 2008 requires colleges to install "net price" calculators on their websites by the fall of 2011. "Net price" is what a student actually pays to attend a college, after subtracting merit aid and need-based grant aid from the sticker price. The government's intent in mandating net price calculators is to provide students with a more accurate picture earlier in their college search of what they will likely need to pay at specific colleges based on their own financial and academic circumstances.

This article provides students with valuable information on ways to manage their bank accounts.

360 Degrees of Financial Literacy is a free program of the nation's certified public accountants to help Americans understand their personal finances through every stage of life.

Guide to college personal finance in PDF format. Provided by the financial literacy initiative of the Oklahoma College Assistance Program, a division of the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education.

This article from Citizens focuses on how to get the best banking services either online or off.

Information and resources on student loan payment options from Equal Justice Works, a nonprofit dedicated to justice and equality for all citizens.

Use this calculator from the American Institute of CPAs to help analyze your budget as a full-time student.

This article from CNN Money shows "how to bring your spending under control, so that you get the most out of every dollar."

A budget is an essential tool for properly managing your money. Five steps from Citizens Bank to help you get started.

This resource from CNN Money explains the basics of investing in the stock market.

Provides information about stocks & currencies gathered from stock markets & other financial information sites worldwide.
For informational purposes only.

This article from CNN Money says, "It's a mutual-fund jungle out there. Here's how to create a simple portfolio that works." Mutual funds are collections of stocks and are generally considered low-risk investments with solid returns.

Bonds can provide a steady and reasonably secure income, while adding ballast to your portfolio--but only if you really understand what you're buying.

"More companies are handing out stock options, and to a much broader group of employees. This lesson gives you vital information on how to handle ESO's".

MarketWatch provides a variety of research tools to help those who are interested in various kinds of investments.

Stock market quotes, business news and financial news from MarketWatch.com, wholly-owned subsidiary of Dow Jones & Company, Inc. Includes a personal finance section.

A database maintained by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission dedicated to answering investor questions.

Provided by the U.S. Social Security Administration.

Dedicated to the education and advocacy that will improve long-term financial quality of life for women.

An extensive directory of websites that cover a large variety of the financial aspects needed to take into consideration when planning for retirement.

Check out the Money & the Retirement Planning sections of this site for information for retirees as well as for those who are planning their retirement.

This site serves as an online guide to retirement. Check out a variety of links on retirement planning and saving advice.

Provided by the U.S. Department of Labor.