What is Open Access?
As defined by Budapest Open Access Initiative, "by 'open access' to this literature, we mean its free availability on the public internet, permitting any users to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles, crawl them for indexing, pass them as data to software, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without financial, legal, or technical barriers other than those inseparable from gaining access to the internet itself. The only constraint on reproduction and distribution, and the only role for copyright in this domain, should be to give authors control over the integrity of their work and the right to be properly acknowledged and cited."
Created by Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC), here is a three minute video on Open Access 101.
Open Access Week 2010
Jennifer McClennan announced on the SPARC blog, "top international researchers will champion the importance of Open Access for advancing research at an online event to launch this year’s Open Access Week (October 18 – 24, 2010).
Nobel Prize-winning scientist and Director of the U.S. National Cancer Institute Dr. Harold Varmus will offer welcoming remarks. Varmus, a long-time champion, has been an unparalleled leader in promoting Open Access in a succession of key roles – from introducing the topic of wider access and launching PubMed Central to increase public access to the literature as the Director of the National Institutes of Health, to helping to found the Public Library of Science, one of the world’s leading open-access publishers.
Varmus will be joined by Dr. Cameron Neylon, a Senior Scientist at the UK Science and Technology Facilities Council, biochemist, and author of the widely read “Science in the Open” blog. Neylon will highlight the kinds of scientific advances Open Access can facilitate, and discuss current examples along with future opportunities. A host of leading researchers from around the globe will also add their voices to the event."
The twenty minute video is a wonderful kick-off event to Open Access Week 2010.
Links on Open Access
- Directory of Open Access JournalsThe directory covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
- Open Access DirectoryA compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large.
- Alliance for Tax Payer AccessA coalition of patient groups, physicians, researchers, educational institutions, publishers, and health promotion organizations that support barrier-free access to taxpayer-funded research.
- SPARC Resources on Open Access
- Open Access Week Videos
- Transforming Scholarly Publishing through Open Access: A BibliographyTransforming Scholarly Publishing through Open Access: Bailey's bibliography presents over 1,100 selected English language scholarly works useful in understanding the open access movement's efforts to provide free access to and unfettered use of scholarly literature.
- Writings on Open Access by OA Guru Peter Suber
- OASIS: Open Access to Scholarly Information SourcebookA sourcebook on how to implement Open Access at your institution.
- National Institutes of Health Public AccessThe NIH Public Access Policy ensures that the public has access to the published results of NIH funded research. It requires scientists to submit final peer-reviewed journal manuscripts that arise from NIH funds to the digital archive PubMed Central upon acceptance for publication.
- PLOS: Public Library of SciencePLOS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.
- For students! The Right to Research CoalitionThe coalition believes, "that no student should be denied access to research they need because their institution cannot afford the often high cost of access."
- For Students! Sparky AwardsSparky Awards is a contest to promote the open exchange of information.
Subject Librarian |
Contact Info Millie Gonzalez Reference and Electronic Resources Librarian Framingham State University 100 State Street PO Box 9101 Whittemore Library 117 Framingham, MA 01701-9101 Tel: 508-626-4655 Fax: 508-626-40 Send Email |
Whittemore Library Celebrates Open Access Week 2010
Framingham State University's Whittemore Library will celebrate Open Access Week 2010 by:
- LibGuide: An Introduction to Open Access
- A display on Open Access located in the lower mezzanine of the library.
- A LibLearn on Open Access, presented by Laura Wilson, Reference Librarian; presentation on Tuesday 1:30pm, Archives Room. PPT uploaded onto the library blog.
- Tweets on Open Access sent from the library Twitter account.


Loading...
