Skip to Main Content
Today's Hours:

Citation Guide

Homepage Guide

About Chicago Style

Created by the University of Chicago Press back in 1906, the Chicago Manual of Style is "... the authoritative reference work for authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers."  Heavily used by the publishing industry as well as by the humanities and social sciences.

Chicago Style has Two Systems to Choose From

Chicago Style has two forms:

 

Notes-Bibliography System (NB)

(This is the one that uses numbered footnotes (bottom of page) or endnotes (end of document))

Used for:

  • literature
  • history
  • arts

 

Author-Date System

(This one is more similar to several other citation styles)

Used for:

  • social sciences

NOTES & BIBLIOGRAPHY STYLE

BOOKS

In-Text Citations

Notes  = the first time you cite a source:

1. First name Last name, Title (City where Published: Publisher Name, Year of Publication), page number OR pg. #-pg.#.

Shortened Notes  = any time you cite a source again after that first time:

2. Last name, Title, Page Number.

Bibliography Entries (Alphabetical Order by Last Name):

Last Name, First Name. Title. City Where Published: Publisher Name, Year of Publication.

Last Name, First Name and First Name Last Name. Title. City Where Published: Publisher Name, Year of Publication.

 

JOURNAL ARTICLES

In-Text Citations

Notes

1. First name Last name. "Title," Journal Name Volume, no. #  (Year): Page #, Database Name.

Shortened Notes

1. Last Name, Title, Page # OR Page#-Page#.

Bibliography Entries (Alphabetical Order by Last Name)

First name Last name. "Title," Journal Name Volume, no. #  (Year): Page#-Page#, Database Name.

 

Multiple Authors?

If 4 to 10:

Note - First Author et al.

Bibliography - List up to 10 authors.   More than 10? In Bibliography, List first 7, then et al.

 

Journal from Online?

Include D.O.I. (best), URL, or database name at very end (followed by a period).

 

WEBSITE CONTENT

Not always necessary to do formal notes/bibliography; can just describe in your text.  But if you want to:

Notes:

1. “Title,” Page Name, Page Owner, last modified Month Day, Year, URL.

Shortened Notes:

2. Page Owner, “Title.”

Bibliography Entry:

Website Publisher/Owner. “Section or Article Title."  Page Name. Last modified/Accessed Month Day, Year. URL..

AUTHOR-DATE STYLE

BOOKS

In-Text Citations

(Author's Last Name Year of Publication, Page Number OR First Page-Last Page )

(Last Name, First Name and First Name Last Name,  Year of Publication, Page Number OR First Page-Last Page )

Reference List Entries (Alphabetical Order)

Official Chicago Style Support from the University of Chicago Press

FInd it:

Find it at:

  • The Reserve Desk (Access Services Desk)
  • The Research & Learning Dept.