Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Book Collections - databases
A database that features online content from over 900 reference books in a broad range of subjects.
Search for information in our online reference collections.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A mix of more than 50 full-text reference books covering the arts, biography, business, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science.
Literary Reference Center
Literary Refrence Center is a full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. An EBSCOhost database.
Search for information in our online reference collection.
Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Oxford English Dictionary
The OED is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources. Continuously revised & updated.
Includes articles from the print set of the Encyclopedia Britannica plus maps, photos, illustrations, videos, multimedia clips, and Yearbooks dating back to 1993. Also includes eBook / Primary Sources, the World Data Analyst for stastistics of countries of the world as well as Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus.