LibGuides: Environmental Sciences Resources: Books at the Whittemore Library

Overview: Our Book Sources

Books useful for Environmental Science research will be one of the following:

Basic, background, authoritative information (aka 'Reference Books')
- Basic facts, history, timeline
Detailed, scholarly analysis about a topic (aka academic books or 'Monographs')
- Discussion of scientific progress and understanding, consensus and controversies
- Some monographs are essentially collections of well-regarded journal articles by respected experts in the field

The Minuteman Library Network Catalog
The Whittemore Library is a member of the MetroWest Minuteman Library Network, whose libraries share a catalog that offers an easy interface for finding and requesting books, music, movies, and more. Search just for resources at the Whittemore Library, or all libraries in the network at once. You can request items to be delivered to the Whittemore Library.
RamSearch
RamSearch allows you to search multiple Whittemore Library databases at once, delivering up results in every format (books, periodicals, videos, audio, etc.). After your initial search, you can limit your search results to a particular type of result (such as books). The results listings will provide either a link to full-text content, or to an inter-library loan request form.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an online database that features factual, authoritative ('reference') content from over 900 books in a broad range of subjects.
Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a small collection of authoritative digital reference books.
Whittemore Library Reference Room
The Reference Room is on the 1st floor of the Whittemore Library, located in the back left corner, and contains hundreds of authoritative encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases and more. Since reference books do not circulate, a photocopy machine is available right outside the room.
WorldCat
WorldCat.org searches thousands of libraries around the world to connect you to the library content you are seeking. Once you find an item's location, it can easily be requested via our interlibrary loan form.