Nutrition Resources

Major Federal resource for nutrition and health professionals, educators, and consumers. Find: Nutrition Topics A-Z, Food Composition data, Dietary Guidelines, Food Guide Pyramid, Surveys, Reports & Research, FNIC databases, Career Resources, etc.

USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference: Find nutrient information on over 8,000 foods. Search by food item, group, or list to find the nutrient information for your food items.

Authoritative information for consumers, educators and health professionals from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Has extensive information on over 750 diseases and conditions. Has directories, a medical encyclopedia and dictionary, tutorials, etc.

Formerly the National Food Service Management Institute (NFSMI), based at the University of Mississippi, is a federally funded national center dedicated to applied research, education and training, and technical assistance for child nutrition programs. Free videos and other training materials.

Primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical reseach. Click on tab for "Health," then, "Food, Nutrition and Metabolism," for information on food & nutrition topics, clinical trials, and links to nutrition related N.I.H. Institutes.

Gateway to the resources from the National Library of Medicine.

Gateway to authoritative information from the federal government on nutrition, physical activity, and food safety for consumers, educators and health professionals.
Contains more than 1000 links to current and reliable nutrition information.

A database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes journal article citations from MEDLINE. Indexes the biomedical literature, including nutrition and food service journals.

Available via the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Portal to the programs & resources of the U.S.D.A.

The OCA is an online and grassroots non-profit 501(c)3 public interest organization campaigning for health, justice, and sustainability. The OCA deals with crucial issues of food safety, industrial agriculture, genetic engineering, children's health, corporate accountability, Fair Trade, environmental sustainability and other key topics. An alternative point of view.

The OMRI supports organic integrity by providing organic certifiers, growers, manufacturers, and suppliers an independent review of products intended for use in certified organic production, handling, and processing. OMRI is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization founded in 1997.

Mission: Ensuring the integrity of USDA organic products in the United States and throughout the world.

Framingham State University based nutrition and school food service site.

Healthy People provides science-based, national goals and objectives with 10-year targets designed to guide national health promotion and disease prevention efforts to improve the health of all people in the U.S.

FREE FULL-TEXT & ordering information for the reports posted on this site. The reports, at the request of various U.S. government agencies, cover issues pertaining to the safety and adequacy of the nation's food supply. These reports establish principles and guidelines for adequate nutrition, and provide authoritative judgment on the relationships among food intake, nutrition, and health.

1964 to date. Click on 1988 for the "Surgeon General's Report on Nutrition and Health."