Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Research Databases
Need basic information on a topic related to chemistry? Start here.
Indexes 16,000+ journals in all disciplines, including chemistry and related fields.
Full-Text Journal Finder
Many students are looking for journals in full-text online. The Full-text Journal Finder can help you to determine whether the journal you are looking for has full-text access at the Whittemore Library. Type in the journal name or the first few words of the name to see if your journal can be found in full-text online. Also links to the library's print journal holdings.
Key Chemistry Database
SciFinder SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science. To access SciFinder, contact reference at email@example.com. You will be sent information on setting up an account and a link to access SciFinder.
Related Science Databases
General Science Collection
Gale / InfoTrac database: [1980-date] Has over 200 journals – from general science magazines to highly specialized academic journals. Covers all scientific fields, including chemistry. Many articles are full-text.
Includes full-text journals in the fields of of chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, geochemistry, inorganic chemistry, mass spectrometry, food chemistry, genetics, and related fields. Provides access to 950+ science journals, most full-text.
E Journals & Print Journals at FSU
Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder
to link to the journal if it is available online
through a database and/or the publisher.
Print Journals (paper, microfilm and microfiche):
To find a listing of where a print journal, magazine, or newspaper is located (either upstairs in the Periodicals Area
on the Upper Mezzanine (UM) or downstairs in the Lower Reading Room [LRR] one flight down from the main floor in the Lower Mezzanine).
1. Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder (see link above)
2. For a list of F.S.U.'s print periodical holdings (paper or microforms), look for the F.S.U Periodical Holdings List, in the red binders
You can find those red binders in the Periodicals Area and at the Reference desk.
3. Search the MLN Online Catalog for individual periodical titles.
Key publications from the Internet
Science Search Engine
To find articles held in our library : click this link. Click "preferences" section. See section entitled "Library Partner Links". Choose the letter "F". Select "Framingham State College". Click "save preferences".
Search for scholarly journal articles with the search engine Google Scholar. Google Scholar is connected to Whittemore Library's databases, so an article from your search results should be availabe full-text from our library if you see and click on the link, "Find it @ Framingham State", to the right of the article.