Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACS - American Chemical Society
A non-profit organization, the ACS is the largest scientific society in the world. ACS publishes many scientific journals, hosts conferences and programs, and also awards research grants.
Virtual Chemistry Lab
Offers a virtual chemistry lab where you can design and carry out your own experiments. Also offers text and video tutorials on different chemistry-related topics. See the left column under "Students" to access the virtual lab and tutorials.
General Chemistry Links
Basic IUPAC Organic Nomenclature
Provides information on basic organic nomenclature. Includes functional groups, 3-D structures and practice questions to help test your knowledge. Hosted by the University of Calgary.
Useful information on a variety of chemistry related topics can be found in these sites.
Chemical Heritage Foundation - Chemistry in History
A brief overview of people and themes important to the history of chemistry.
A timeline that discusses key developments in the scientific field, with a major focus on chemistry.
This site provides 3-D interactive animations of organic reactions that are most often studied in an undergraduate chemistry course. Hosted by the University of Liverpool.
Provides access to abstracts of journal articles, books, papers, conferences, news stories as well as forums and a newsletter dedicated to chemistry.
Links for Chemists
A directory of sites related to chemistry. Hosted by the University of Liverpool.
Organic Chemistry Help!
Provides links to several sites that provide help with organic chemistry topics. Includes practice tests.
This database includes information related to substance information, compound structures and BioActivity.
Gateway to government science information and research results.
Science.gov Chemistry and Chemicals webpages
A directory of U.S. governmental web pages related to chemistry and chemicals.
The World of Chemistry
Hosted by the University of Maryland, this site hosts education videos related to topics of chemistry. You must create a free login account to view the videos.
TOXNET - Toxicology Data Network
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, toxic releases.
Chemistry Data Websites
NIST Chemistry WebBook
This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program
Fundamental Physical Constants
The NIST Reference on Constants, Units, and Uncertainty.
Look here if you want to know the correct factors for converting units.
American Chemical Society Periodic Table
Provides general element data such as electron configuration, molar mass, boiling point, melting point, atomic radius and more.
David's Whizzy Periodic Table
Hosted by the University of Colorado, this site shows animated images of elements from the periodic table.
Created by a chemistry professor at the University of Sheffield, this site offers a wide range of information related to elements of the periodic table, including history, uses, crystal structures, images and much more.