LibGuides: ENGL 110: Comp II, Mancuso: Find Articles and Journals

Specific Databases for Topics on Television, Advertising, and the Media.

These databases are particularly helpful when researching the subject of Communication Arts.

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Through EBSCOhost, CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, and mass media.

Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Through Infotrac, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, and linguistics.

General Research Databases

The general research databases can provide an excellent jumping off point, but don't forget to check databases specialized to your discipline as well! Use the EBSCO search box below, the Gale PowerSearch it button, or one of the other general purpose databases listed below to get started on your research.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale’s premier periodical resource, Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. With extensive coverage in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology, researchers are able to find accurate information and articles in both PDF and HTML formats with ease.
Article First This link opens in a new window
FirstSearch navigates through WorldCat’s 498 million bibliographic records in seconds, connecting searchers to exactly what they need. Researchers and library staff can find and select resources in thousands of library collections with rich information from WorldCat records.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile Select covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. This resource for academic research integrates the full text of publications from across the disciplines and now includes vocational/technical titles used by community college students, filling a specific need for curriculum-oriented collections. Gale Academic OneFile Select provides indexing for more than 5,000 periodicals, more than 2,800 in full text without any embargo.

Newspaper databases

Specialized databases that also contain information on Communications.

Proquest Newspapers (Massachusetts Newstand)
Full-text articles from the electronic editions of the Boston Globe (1980-present), Boston Herald (1991-present), Worcester Telegram & Gazette (1989-present), Berkshire Eagle (2005 - present), Business West (1992 - present), North Adams Transcript (2005 - present), Patriot Ledge (1991 - present), Plymouth County Business Review (1991 - present), Sentinel & Enterprise (2005 - present), The Sun (2004 - present), Gazette (12/31/1992 - 8/9/2007), Standard Times (1/4/1992 - 8/19/1997).

Education Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Provides citation and abstract information from over 1,000 educational journals and related documents from the Educational Resource Information Center and educational symposium report literature dating back to 1967.

Related Subject Specific Databases

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of over 575 full text journals, as well as more than 550 peer-reviewed titles.

ERIC Provides citation and abstract information from over 1,000 educational journals and related documents from the Educational Resource Information Center and educational symposium report literature dating back to 1967.

E Journals & Print Journals at FSU

E-Journals:
Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder
to link to the journal if it is available online
through a database and/or the publisher.

Full-Text Journal Finder

Print Journals (paper, microfilm and microfiche):

To find a listing of where a print journal, magazine, or newspaper is located (either upstairs in the Periodicals Area
on the Upper Mezzanine (UM) or downstairs in the Lower Reading Room [LRR] one flight down from the main floor in the Lower Mezzanine).

1. Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder (see link above)

2. For a list of F.S.U.'s print periodical holdings (paper or microforms), look for the F.S.U Periodical Holdings List, in the red binders
You can find those red binders in the Periodicals Area and at the Reference desk.

3. Search the MLN Online Catalog for individual periodical titles.

MLN Online Catalog