Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy: Free Philosophy Resources

Why Philosophy Encyclopedias?

Free, online encyclopedias like the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy and the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy contain entries on all sorts of topics in philosophy, broad and narrow -- all of which are written by professional philosophers. Peruse these encyclopedias to enhance your background knowledge of topics and major figures in philosophy as well as your understanding of intricate concepts you're learning about in your philosophy courses.

Why PhilPapers and PhilArchive?

The PhilPapers Foundation provides free access to a number of useful resources in philosophy, including a comprehensive index of philosophy scholarship and an open-access repository where anyone can read and download full-text philosophy articles written by professional philosophers.

  • Indexes and bibliographies help you broaden or narrow your research questions by providing you with a list of published articles and books on relevant topics. For any books or articles you can't retrieve through FSU after searching our databases with the title you saw on Philpapers, request access via Inter-Library Loan.
  • Open-access articles enable access to full-text philosophy scholarship that you otherwise may not be able to retrieve through the library holdings. PhilArchive houses thousands of philosophy articles on a wide range of topics and specialties.

Why Podcasts and Videos?

New to philosophy? Want to explore topics you haven't yet covered in your philosophy courses? Want to deepen your understanding of philosophical issues? Podcasts and short video lessons are useful resources for beginners and experts alike. For help with working through philosophical problems, Wireless Philosophy videos are designed to teach you how to do philosophy. And podcasts provide the listener with ample examples of how to engage charitably with others on philosophical issues about which there may be considerable divergence and disagreement.

Ancient greek pot for holding oil with an owl painted on it

Terracotta lekythos (oil flask) with an owl, 4th century B.C. From the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
This work is in the public domain.

Navigation