Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy: Bibliographies and Open-Access Articles

Why PhilPapers and PhilArchive?

The PhilPapers Foundation provides free access to a number of useful resources in philosophy, including a comprehensive index of philosophy scholarship and an open-access repository where anyone can read and download full-text philosophy articles written by professional philosophers.

  • Indexes and bibliographies help you broaden or narrow your research questions by providing you with a list of published articles and books on relevant topics. For any books or articles you can't retrieve through FSU after searching our databases with the title you saw on Philpapers, request access via Inter-Library Loan.
  • Open-access articles enable access to full-text philosophy scholarship that you otherwise may not be able to retrieve through the library holdings. PhilArchive houses thousands of philosophy articles on a wide range of topics and specialties.

PhilPapers - Index and Bibliography

Search PhilPapers for articles and books on a breadth of topics in philosophy.

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. We monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy.

From "Welcome to PhilPapers." Read more about Philpapers.

 

PhilArchive - Downloadable Articles

Search PhilArchive for articles that you may download directly from the archive.

PhilArchive is the largest open access e-print archive in philosophy. Formerly known as the PhilPapers Archive, it is built on and integrated with the PhilPapers database. Access to items on PhilArchive is free without a user account. PhilArchive is a non-profit project supported by the PhilPapers Foundation.

From "Welcome to PhilArchive!" Read more about PhilArchive.