Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Guide

This guide provides instructions on how to cite sources according to the different style manuals. Examples from MLA, APA and the Chicago style manuals are provided.

APA - Formatting The Reference List

At the end of your paper, you are required to include a References List - a list that provides the full details on the sources of all the resources you consulted when writing your research paper. The purpose of the reference list is to allow the resources cited in your work to be be found by your readers. It also gives credit to authors whose work and ideas you have considered.  

Each entry should include the following reference components:

  • Author
  • Publication Date
  • Title
  • Publication information

References List

Start the Reference listing on a separate page at the end of your research paper.

Title the page References List (do not underline or use bold letters) and center it to the middle of the page, one inch from the top of the page.

Maintain the same margins and spaces settings on your Reference page as you did throughout your paper.

Double space between the page title and the first entry.

All citations should be double-spaced.

Entries need to be listed in alphabetical order by the author's last name. If no author is listed, begin with the title.

Do not use bullets or numbers when listing the resources on your Reference List page.

The first line of the citation should be aligned with the left margin.

Indent after the first line of each entry.    

Capitalize titles of books and articles according to the convention.

Italicize titles of books, journals, and databases. 

If a book was published in more than one edition, the edition needs to be noted after the title. The Edition number is not specified in the first edition of the publication.

All citations need to end with a period.
 
 

MLA - Formatting The Work Cited Page

At the end of your paper you are required to include a bibliographical listing (a list of all the resources you consulted when writing your paper). The following list provides the basic MLA guidelines for creating the Work Cited page. 

For additional guidance on Formatting your Work Cited page, watch the MLA Tutorial #3: Works Cited Page Formatting in the MLA Video Tutorial page in this guide. You can also review the tutorial, by simply  clicking on the link. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ng_PeRBFa4s

Work Cited

Start your Work Cited listing on a separate page at the end of your research paper.

Title the page Work Cited (do not underline or use bold letters) and center it to the middle of the page.

Maintain the same margains and spaces settings on your Works Cited page as you did throughout your paper.

All citations should be double spaced.     

Entries need to be listed alphabethically by the author's last name. If no author is listed, begin with the title.

Indent after the first line of each entry. 

Capitalize titles of books and articles according to convention.

Italics titles of books, journals and databases. 

If a book was published in more than one edition, the edition needs to be noted after the title. Edition number is not specified in a first edition of publication.

Publishing details for books are not enclosed in brackets.

Do not use bullets or numbers when listing the resources on your Work Cited page.

The sections of the citation are seperated by full stops not commas.

All citations need to end with a period.

Chicago - Formatting the Bibliography Page

At the end of your paper you are required to include a bibliographical listing (a list of all the resources you consulted when writing your paper). The following list provides the basic Chicago Manual of Style guidelines for creating the Bibliography page. 

Bibliography

Start your Bibliography listing on a separate page at the end of your research paper.

Title the page Bibliography (do not underline or use bold letters) and center it to the middle of the page.

Maintain the same margains and spaces settings on your Works Cited page as you did throughout your paper.

All citations should be double spaced.     

Entries need to be listed alphabethically by the author's last name. (The authors surname or family name appears first) If no author is listed, begin with the title.

The sections, of the citation are separated by full stops, not commas.

Capitalize titles of books and articles according to convention.

Italics titles of books, journals and databases. 

If a book was published in more than one edition, the edition needs to be noted after the title. Edition number is not specified in a first edition of publication.

Publishing details for books are not enclosed in brackets.

Indent after the first line of each entry. 

Do not use bullets or numbers when listing the resources on your Bibliography page.

All citations need to end with a period.

(edit text