Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Atlas of Climate Change. 3rd ed. 2011
Covers the latest developments in research and the impact of climate change, and the current efforts to mitigate and adapt to changes in the worlds weather.
Climate Change : Observed Impacts on Planet Earth. 1st ed. 2009
"This book serves as a broad, accessible guide to the science behind this often political and heated debate by providing scientific detail and evidence in language that is clear to both the non-specialist and the serious student."
Guide to Global Hazards. 2003
From the site: "A compelling, richly illustrated guide to the many large-scale disasters that affect life on Earth, both globally and locally. The guide is vital reading for those interested in the environment, geophysics and current affairs. It provides clear descriptions of all types of hazard and the threats they pose." Has a chapter on global warming.
Click on one of the links below to access an online encyclopedia or collection of ebooks. These materials cover topics related to environmental science as well as other subjects.
Search for general information on your topic in our online collection of 600+ reference books
AccessScience Online is fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 11th Edition (2012), plus web based updates. Search or browse for topics related to global warming and climate change.
The Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus online. Browse or search for topics related to global warming and climate change.
Controversial Environmental Topics
[Battleground] Environment. 2008
From the site: "Provides entries on various controversial environmental topics. Entries include contextual and historical overviews, legal background, examples of local incidents and events, and projections." Covers topics related to global warming and climate change.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy. 2009
From the site: "Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage."
General Environmental Science Information
Click on one of the links below to access an e-book. If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Blackboard username and password before you can access the book.
Energy & Global Warming
Encyclopedia of Energy. 2004
Covers types, conservation, economics, environmental issues, history and more, all related to energy. Click this link to access an alphabetical list of entries in the book. At the top of the page, click the "contents by subject area" link to browse through the subjects of the book. You can also type a keyword in the search box to search the entire book at once.