Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Services for Faculty and Alumni

Faculty

The Library provides a combination of print and electronic resources to the University's students, faculty, and staff. Local holdings include over 200,000 books and multi-media resources, approximately 300 periodicals, and 600,000 units of microforms. These core resources support the curricula of all academic departments at the University and are systematically updated with new acquisitions selected by professional staff and requested by faculty and students.

As a member of the Minuteman Library Network (MLN), the Library's holdings are supplemented by an online catalog accessing more than 6 million volumes held in the combined collections of 41 regional academic and public libraries. MLN also provides access to several electronic databases; many provide full-text articles. Interlibrary loan requests may be placed electronically, and shuttle delivery moves over 8,000 items to and from the Library annually. A similar volume of materials are electronically requested and accessed from among the 600 consortium member libraries of the New England Library Information Network (NELINET) and the 13,000 member libraries of the national Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).

The Library offers access to over 50 electronic journal and newspaper databases containing more than 15,000 titles in full-text. These databases are available in the Library, throughout the campus-wide network, and from off campus locations.

Also available in the Library are the Archives and Special Collections, which include historical materials unique to the University, the Curriculum Library, which includes reference sources, k-12 textbooks, juvenile fiction and nonfiction, and other resources that support studies in Education.

Off-campus Access

You can access the electronic resources by selecting a database and when prompted, enter your network or Blackboard log-in. For students, they need to enter their Blackboard account. Email reference if you experience problems with access or call the helpdesk.

Reserve Policies (including e-Reserves)
The Library offers a variety of options for faculty who want to provide supplementary and/or required readings for their students. For information on in-house or e-Reserves, please review the Reserve policies.

Reserve Request Form
To request Reserve materials for your courses, please email Peg Snyder at msnyder@framingham.edu.

Due to the extent of work in preparing materials, particularly for e-Reserves, please submit requests two weeks in advance.

Library Workshops and Events
During the academic year, the Library hosts a variety of workshops and events on new electronic resources and topics of interest to faculty, such as plagiarism and grant writing. Every effort will be made to keep all faculty informed. Watch for details on the library blog.

Grant Writing Resources
The library has created resource guide listing a number of resources on grant writing available online and in print.

Copyright and the TEACH Act
Faculty wishing to place photocopied materials on Reserve may do so within the limits of fair use and copyright compliance. The Library has an account with Copyright Clearance Center and, before processing materials, Circulation department staff will seek permission, as needed. 

Support for online and distance education courses
The Library web page serves as a gateway to many services and resources for faculty. Electronic databases, request forms, and links to other services can be accessed at any time from any location. Librarians available to assist with course assignments and research.

Request for purchase:
The Henry Whittemore Library encourages students, faculty and staff to use the forms provided to suggest the purchase of library materials. Purchase recommendations will be evaluated in terms of 1) their appropriateness to the instructional and research programs of  Framingham State University and 2) availability of funds. 

Suggestions for purchase by faculty may be submitted through a department's designated liaison to the Library.  Please check the Whittemore Library Online Catalog to see if your selections are already in the Library collection.You may suggest a purchase using one of the following methods:

  • Send an email to the Acquisitions Department
  • Visit the Library and complete a form available at the Reference Desk

Request for instruction:

Email Sandra Rothenberg at srothenberg@framingham.edu

Consortium membership

The Library belongs to a regional consortium, Minuteman Library Network that allows walk-in borrowing at the 35 public and 5 other academic member libraries. However, please be aware that as a faculty member you have a 90 day lending period only at the University and materials borrowed at other Minuteman libraries will have a shorter lending period based on their individual policies. Information about each Minuteman Network Library can be found at:
http://www.mln.lib.ma.us

In addition, all the 29 libraries in the Massachusetts Public Higher Education system belong to a consortium (MCCLPHEI). All except University of Massachusetts Medical School at Worcester allow walk-in reciprocal borrowing. Interlibrary loan requests are free of charge at all participating institutions.  For a complete listing please see: http://www.mass.edu/system/campusdirectory.asp

E-Resources subject guides
Librarians collaborate with faculty in each academic discipline to create electronic resource guides to help their students find subject specific information sources for their research projects. 

Citation Management

RefWorks is a web-based citation management service. You can: access RefWorks from any computer with Internet access (on and off campus); create a personal database online; import references from multiple databases; organize and manage references; share references; and format bibliographies and manuscripts. Here is information on how to use RefWorks or access the log-on page

Copyright Infringement and Penalties

Copyright infringement is the act of exercising, without permission or legal authority, one or more of the exclusive rights granted to the copyright owner under section 106 of the Copyright Act (Title 17 of the United States Code), including reproducing or distributing a copyrighted work.  In the filesharing context, downloading or uploading substantial parts of a copyrighted work without authority also constitutes an infringement.

Unauthorized distribution of copyrighted material, including unauthorized peer-to-peer sharing, may subject an individual to civil and criminal liabilities.  Penalties for violations of federal copyright laws may include payment of the actual dollar amount of damages and profits; a dollar penalty ranging from $200 to $150,000 for each work infringed; attorney's fees and court costs; an injunction to stop the infringing acts; court impoundment of the illegal work; or the infringer can go to jail. Students who engage in unauthorized peer-to-peer sharing, illegal downloading or unauthorized distribution of copyrighted materials using the school's information technology system are subject to Student Code of Conduct regulations and possible disciplinary penalties.

For more information, please visit the U.S. Copyright Office at www.copyright.gov, and related FAQ's at www.copyright.gov/help/faq