Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get Research Help
Access Databases from off-campus
Get Writing Help
Get I.T. Help
PT Reference Librarian || OER Liaison
Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) is the integration of clinical experience and patient values with the
best available research information.
THE 5 STEPS
Form a focused clinical question
Efficiently find the available evidence (research studies)
Critically appraise the evidence for internal and external relevance
Make a decision /
apply the evidence ethically Reflect on the effect of the applied evidence / the overall process
BACKGROUND INFO in EBM (Facts) for creating Clinical Questions
Online Encyclopedias, Medical Dictionaries, Handbooks and more
Keyword search your topic, or browse books by topic or title
Search our (Minuteman)
Limit by location to FSU for on-site Whittemore Library books
Books may be physically in the Whittemore Library or available instantly online
This searches the book catalog and many (but not all) databases
Search, then limit your results to 'Books' or 'eBooks'
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook
An evidence-based guide to planning care
TOP FOREGROUND INFO in EBM (Research Articles) for answering Clinical Questions
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Provides full-text indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937.
Authoritative medical information on medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. (A subset of PubMed.)
Public access to citations from biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine.
More than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical, and technical information online.