Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Issue: Climate Change Controversy

A guide to resources for students learning and writing about the controversies (social & political) surrounding climate change.

Finding Books & Other Background Info at FSU from...

  • Search using your keyword in the Minuteman Library Catalog
    • Searches more than 40 Metro West libraries
    • To see books available only at FSU, limit your results to Framingham State University
      • To access print books, note the call number, then locate the book in the shelves on the Lower Mezzanine or Ground level
      • Check them out at the Circulation Desk
    • You can also limit to book type (print, digital, audio, etc.)
    • Request books not held physically by FSU by creating a Minuteman account, then using your library card number
      • That number is found as a barcode sticker on the back of your student ID
      • If you do not have that barcode, please stop by the Circulation Desk, or call them at: (508) 626 - 4650 for more information
      • You can request that print books held by other Minuteman libraries be sent here to FSU
      • You will be notified when the book has arrived so that you can pick it up
    • Minuteman Digital (Overdrive) books and audiobooks can also be borrowed (downloaded) using your library card number
      • You will need to install/use an app on your portable device to use these
  • Run your keyword search in RamSearch
  • Limit your search to 'books' (print books on site) or 'ebooks' available instantly
    • To access print books, note the call number, then locate the book in the shelves on the Lower Mezzanine or Ground level
      • Check them out at the Circulation Desk
    • To access ebooks, follow the link through to the online full text
  • Note: Ram Search does not search all the Minuteman libraries; shows just books owned by FSU
    • To find books in the entire Minuteman library system (they can be sent to FSU), search our catalog

Search the Credo Reference database

  • Authoritative essays from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and more
  • Find relevant articles using the main search box
  • Find Topic Pages for a quick overview
  • Browse the collection
    • By topic area
    • By alphabetical title
  • General topics may include a Mindmap
    • Good for brainstorming paper topics, especially for narrowing too-broad topics
    • The Mindmap contains follow-able links
  • Offers citation support (will generate the reference for your References / Works Cited page)
    • Look on the upper right on essays/articles for the quote icon
  • The Reference Room is on the 1st floor of the Whittemore Library
    • Located in the back left next to the Reference Desk and the two printer stations
  • Contains hundreds of authoritative encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases and more
  • Locate Reference titles using our catalog (must limit by location to FSU only)
    • A Reference book's call number will have Ref added to it
  • Reference books do not circulate; must stay in the library
  • A Photocopier is available next to the printers outside the Reference Room
  • The Reference Room is also the Silent Study Room - no noise allowed

FSU's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Service

  • FSU students can receive from other libraries, at no cost to themselves, books that are NOT available at FSU or available from the Minuteman Library Network
  • Note that physical books are shipped from other libraries via U.S. Mail; please allow time for items to arrive
  • Sometimes books borrowed via ILL can be renewed, but sometimes they can't - please plan and make use of them accordingly

Suggested Books & Other Info Sources:

Infographic: Where Climate Change Deniers Live | Statista
You will find more infographics at Statista