Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online M.B.A. - Management: Research Articles

A guide to information resources for students who are in the online MBA program.

 

Finding Management Articles...

 

pointing handFor database searching help, contact a librarian, or try these searching tips.

 

Getting More Full Text

  • Many of our databases make articles immediately available as full-text PDFs or text on webpages
  • If not, then use the 'Full Text Finder' link
  • Even if the database you found an article citation in doesn’t have the full text right there, click on this link to check for full text in other library databases
  • This means: DON'T limit to full text when searching our databases

Top Business Databases for Management Articles

1) RamSearch

  • Pros:
    • Can be useful for interdisciplinary topics
    • Can see the list of databases searched, then choose a few specific ones to make a custom search
    • Can limit to peer-reviewed journals only
    • Defaults to finding only full-text results
  • Cons:
    • Not able to search every database we have
    • Tends to be less precise, more like a Google search
    • Searches books, news and other stuff, too; may have to filter those results out
    • Defaults to finding only full-text results - you may miss citations that would be useful for assignments

 

 

2) Multiple Ebsco Databases at once

  • Pros
    • Search multiple databases that we get from the same company
  • Cons
    • May have to make sure to leave out the newspaper and other non-relevant databases
  • How to do it:
    • Go to any Ebsco database (e.g.: CINAHL Plus)
    • Look for the 'Choose Databases' link right next to the database name (above the main search box)
    • Click on the 'Choose Databases' link to see a pop-up window with list of every Ebsco database we have access to
    • Click the boxes next to any of the other Ebsco databases that would be useful for your search
      • E.g.: You might want to search both CINAHL and Professional Development Collection
    • Click the yellow 'OK" button at the top
    • Run your search

3) Multiple Gale Databases at once

  • Pros
    • Search multiple databases that we get from the same company
  • Cons
    • May have to make sure to leave out the newspaper and other non-relevant databases

4) Multiple ProQuest Databases at once

  • Pros
    • Search multiple databases that we get from the same company
  • Cons
    • May have to make sure to leave out the newspaper and other non-relevant databases

Finding Individual Journals at FSU

  • Browse journals by topic on our Journal Search Page
  • Search for a specific journal title on our Journal Search Page
  • Journals may be available from more than one source; journal coverage (years available) may vary
    • We may get older issues from one source and current issues from a different source
    • Some journals may have 'embargoes' (full-text delays) of up to one year
  • Yes, you can search within an individual journal
    • There will be a search box somewhere (usually upper right) on the journal's main page
    • Run a keyword or title phrase search there
  • Please request articles NOT currently available full-text at FSU by using our Interlibrary Loan Form

 

Selected Business Journals

Google Scholar

  • Follow the links (when available) on the right hand side of the results listing to retrieve full text of search results
  • Below each search result there is an icon of double quotes that links to citation information
  • Check FSU for full-text of citations found online: Run the complete article title as a phrase search in RamSearch
  • Request articles NOT currently available at FSU via our Interlibrary Loan Request Form.

FSU's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Service

  • FSU students can receive from other libraries, at no cost to themselves, copies of articles that are NOT available full text at FSU
  • While searching library databases, if our site does not have access to article full text, you will have an option to click a link to an ILL form that is already half filled out
    • Complete that online form and submit it to request that article
    • Don't forget to fill out the part of the form asking what is the date after which you do not need the desired article any more
    • You will receive in your e-mail box either a link/password to retrieve your article, or an attached PDF
    • We have no control over how quickly requested articles arrive, so plan accordingly