Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANTH 161: Cultural Anthropology

A guide to information resources for students taking the Online ANTH 161 Cultural Anthropology course.

Obtaining Cultural Anthropology Articles...

Ram Search

Search for articles, books, journals, and more!

Pros:

  • Searches multiple databases at once
  • Can be useful for interdisciplinary topics
  • Can see the list of databases searched, then choose a few specific ones to make a custom search
  • Can limit to peer-reviewed journals only
  • Defaults to finding only full-text results

Cons:

  • Not able to search every database we have
  • Tends to be less precise, a little more like a general Google search
  • Searches books, news and other stuff, too; may have to filter those results out
  • Defaults to finding only full-text results - you may miss citations that would be useful for assignments

A pointing finger Try using the advanced search page (has more search options) to get more precise searches

pointing handFor database searching help, contact a librarian, or try these searching tips.

 

Getting More Full Text

  •  Many of our databases make articles immediately available as full-text PDFs or text on webpages
  •  If not, then use the 'Full Text Finder' link
  • Even if the database you found an article citation in doesn’t have the full text right there, click on this link to check for full text in other library databases
  • This means: DON'T limit to full text when searching our databases

Top Databases for Cultural Anthropology Articles

Finding Individual Journals at FSU

  • Browse journals by topic on our Journal Search Page
  • Search for a specific journal title on our Journal Search Page
  • Search for the journal title in the F.S.U. Periodicals Holdings List (Red Binders at the Reference Desk & Periodicals area).
  • Search for the journal title via the Minuteman Library Network Online Catalog.
  • Journals may be available from more than one source; journal coverage (years available) may vary
    • We may get older issues from one source and current issues from a different source
    • Some journals may have 'embargoes' (full-text delays) of up to one year
  • Yes, you can search within an individual journal
    • There will be a search box somewhere (usually upper right) on the journal's main page
    • Run a keyword or title phrase search there
  • Please request articles NOT currently available full-text at FSU by using our Interlibrary Loan Form

 

Selected journals with cultural anthropology info

 

Google Scholar

FSU's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Service