Welcome to the Henry Whittemore Library! We have a lot to offer you. The Library staff and I are committed to serving the research needs of the campus community by providing access to resources through collection development and cooperative efforts. We advocate new models of service that use technology and advances partnerships with faculty to promote information literacy. Librarians are able to provide links to the past and pathways to the future by playing a role in guiding on and off campus library users through the maze of available information. Library staff members strive to provide excellent customer service and are committed to creating a respectful and welcoming environment for all library users.
-- Bonnie Mitchell, Dean of the Library
The Henry Whittemore Library is a vital, vibrant part of the Framingham State University community. Through dedicated customer service, the Library supports and advances the academic and cultural missions of the university by providing current, relevant resources and technologies to our students, faculty and administrators which address the needs of a diverse, evolving learning community. By collaborating with faculty and continually adopting new instructional techniques, the library staff strives to develop students’ information literacy and critical thinking skills while encouraging individual interests and self discovery so students can prepare themselves for a successful life beyond our campus.
Henry Whittemore Library is a seven-level structure completed in 1969. The building contains the University library as well as classrooms and other facilities, including the Copy Center, Print Shop, and the Communication Arts and Music Departments. Other features of the building include spacious reading and lounge areas and study carrels. Although there is wireless access throughout the building, public computers are available for those without laptops. The Library has a main collection of over 200,000 volumes and over 60,000 resources on education in the Curriculum Library. The Library provides access to a variety of online databases and electronic journals for on and off-campus users. The Special Collections include rare books on the history of education, contemporary American poetry and travel, cookbooks, and children's literature. The Christa McAuliffe collection contains letters, documents, and other memorabilia related to the Teacher in Space program and the life of Christa McAuliffe. The College Archives include photographs, videotapes, journals, documents, Massachusetts and education history, and publications pertaining to the history of the University.