Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding reviews, criticism, and historical information in electronic reources through the Library
Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.
Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
MLA International Bibliography
Online version of the MLA Bibliography. Contains citations from over 4,400 journals and book series. Search 1963 to the present.
Collections I and VII; Search back issues of core journals (357 titles) in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Full text access to over 180 high quality journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from 60 scholarly publishers.
America: History & Life
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexing hundreds of journals, it is an invaluable bibliographic database for history students. Covers from 1895 to the present.
Woodcut illustration from The Mariner’s Chronicle of Shipwrecks, Fires, Famines, and other Disasters at Sea, Volume 1 (Boston, 1835)
Courtesy of the New Bedford Whaling Museum