Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Databases - Finding Scholarly Articles
These databases are provided by the Henry Whittemore Library at Framingham State University. The databases listed below are best for finding secondary sources. If an article is not available in full-text through the Henry Whittemore Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan. Interlibrary loan for articles can take 5 - 7 days. See the Additional Resources tab for more information about interlibrary loan.
Collections I and VII; Search back issues of core journals (357 titles) in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Full text access to over 180 high quality journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from 60 scholarly publishers.
HeinOnline’s Government, Politics & Law contains more than 100 million pages of content across 156,000 titles and 310,000 volumes. HeinOnline bridges the gap in history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,500 periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of journals, the database also contains the Congressional Record bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR from inception, and much more!
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
America: History & Life
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexing hundreds of journals, it is an invaluable bibliographic database for history students. Covers from 1895 to the present.
Tip: Historical Abstracts covers world history, exclusive of materials about the United States and Canada. American History & Life covers the United States and Canada. You can search both databases simultaneously by clicking the "Choose Databases" link above the search box in either database. A list of all the EBSCO databases will be displayed and you can select which database you would like to search simultaneously from there.
Exploring Beyond Ram Search: Minuteman Library Network
Through Ram Search you can find articles in resources the library subscribes to and books held at the Henry Whittemore Library. To discover books in the Minuteman Library Network use the Mintueman Widget to reproduce your search in the Minuteman Catalog. From here you will be able to find books that you can have delivered to the library in just a couple days!
Exploring Beyond Ram Search: Worldcat
If you are curious about what is out there beyond Ram Search and the Mintueman Catalog you can search WorldCat! WorldCat allows you to search library catalogs world-wide. To request books you are interested in from WorldCat use Interlibrary loan.
Search libraries worldwide. Includes millions of bibliographic records
Boston Public Library eCard
The Boston Public Library offers many more resources for finding primary and secondary sources! To obtain an eCard follow the directions in the link below. The Boston Public Library eCard is available to anyone who lives, works, or studies in Massachusetts.
The Boston Public Library offers resources for finding both primary and secondary sources.