LibGuides: Human Rights: Find Articles and Journals

How to Login if You are Off-Campus

Users who are off-campus will need to log in with their Blackboard credentials in order to access the databases and other resources offered by the Library. Students, faculty, and staff will be prompted to authenticate via Blackboard.
If you are having trouble logging in with Blackboard, the Library may refer you to Information Technology Services for assistance.

Google Scholar

Search for scholarly journal articles with the search engine Google Scholar. Google Scholar is connected to Whittemore Library's databases, so an article from your search results should be availabe full-text from our library if you see and click on the link, "Find it @ Framingham State", to the right of the article.

General Research Databases

The general research databases can provide an excellent starting point, but don't forget to check discipline-specific databases as well!

Gale PowerSearch provides access to journal and magazine articles, reference articles, multimedia, and primary source information. When searching in PowerSearch check out the Topic Finder function to discover additional keywords.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides in-depth articles on today's issues. Each article provide a contextual overview of the issue and many include pro and con sections.

Databases: Human Rights

For human rights research, databases like those below provide access to scholarly peer reviews journal articles along with news reports related to human rights. Additionally, it is important to consult Intergovernmental (IGO) and Non Governmental (NGO) Organizations which provide a rich source of documents related to human rights. These documents cover specific issues and countries. See the Core Documents and Websites tab for these key sources. If you are having trouble tracking down the information you need, please stop by, call (508-626-4654) or email the reference staff.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology research database includes full-text of 700+ journals, 800+ books, and 13,500+ conference papers published in the field. Covers Sociology and related disciplines including ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage and the family, political sociology, socio-cultural anthropology, and violence. [1895 to date]
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Search for scholarly journal articles within this search engine. Go to "Scholar Preferences" and enter Framingham State University as your preferred library in the "library links" section. You will see a result for Framingham State University. Select "Find it @Framingham State". Once you do this, you will be able to search and find full-text articles from our library.

JSTOR - Political Science
Search full-text political science journals.

Reusable Ram Search Widget

Full-Text Journal Finder

Full-text Journal Finder
To find out if a journal is available online and full-text, search the Full Text Journal Finder.

E Journals & Print Journals at FSU

E-Journals:
Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder
to link to the journal if it is available online
through a database and/or the publisher.

Full-Text Journal Finder

Print Journals (paper, microfilm and microfiche):

To find a listing of where a print journal, magazine, or newspaper is located (either upstairs in the Periodicals Area
on the Upper Mezzanine (UM) or downstairs in the Lower Reading Room [LRR] one flight down from the main floor in the Lower Mezzanine).

1. Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder (see link above)

2. For a list of F.S.U.'s print periodical holdings (paper or microforms), look for the F.S.U Periodical Holdings List, in the red binders
You can find those red binders in the Periodicals Area and at the Reference desk.

3. Search the MLN Online Catalog for individual periodical titles.

MLN Online Catalog

Human Rights