LibGuides: Finance Resources: Books

Overview of Books in the Whittemore Library

Books useful for Finance students will include the following:

Basic, background, authoritative information (aka 'Reference Books')
- Basic facts, history, timelines, handbooks
Detailed, scholarly analysis about a topic (aka academic books or 'Monographs')
- Discussion of scientific progress and understanding, consensus and controversies
- Some monographs are essentially collections of well-regarded journal articles by respected experts in the field

The Minuteman Library Network Catalog
The Whittemore Library is a member of the MetroWest Minuteman Library Network, whose libraries share a catalog that offers an easy interface for finding and requesting books, music, movies, and more. Search just for resources at the Whittemore Library, or all libraries in the network at once. You can request items from other libraries to be lent to you (you will need your FSU library card number), whereupon they will be quickly delivered to the Whittemore Library.
RamSearch
RamSearch allows you to search multiple Whittemore Library databases at once, delivering up results in every format (books, periodicals, videos, audio, etc.). After your initial search, you can limit your search results to a particular type of result (such as books). The results listings will provide either a link to full-text content, or to an inter-library loan request form.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an online database that features factual, authoritative ('reference') content from over 900 books in a broad range of subjects.
Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a small collection of authoritative digital reference books.
Whittemore Library Reference Room
The Reference Room is on the 1st floor of the Whittemore Library, located in the back left corner, and contains hundreds of authoritative encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases and more. Since reference books do not circulate, a photocopy machine is available right outside the room.
WorldCat
WorldCat.org searches thousands of libraries around the world to connect you to the library content you are seeking. Once you find an item's location, it can easily be requested via our interlibrary loan form.

Selected Books About Finance (General)

We have more than 3,000 eBooks about Finance in our Ebsco eBook database, and more than 500 print books about Finance on our shelves here in the library (with more than 4,000 Finance books total available in the entire Minuteman Library Network).

Below are a few selected books from our collection.

Corporate Financial Distress (eBook) by Alberto Tron
ISBN: 9781839829819
Publication Date: 2021
Financial distress in corporations is a frequent phenomenon, particularly during times of national and international economic crises; but this can be used as an opportunity and incentive to implement a systematic process of reorganization and revitalization of a business.
The Infographic Guide to Personal Finance (Print Book) by Michele Cagan; Elisabeth Lariviere
Call Number: HG179 .C28 2017
ISBN: 9781507204665
Publication Date: 2017
This illustrated beginner's guide to personal finance distills essential information into small, easy-to-follow steps to help you get your finances in order.
Essentials of Financial Management (eBook) by Jason Laws
ISBN: 9781786942050
Publication Date: 2019
Employs two main philosophies: that finance is a real-life subject and that finance is a numerical subject, which is why this brilliant e-textbook contains real world examples as well as numerous Excel spreadsheet solutions for students to download and use.
Finance and the Good Society (Print Book) by Robert J. Shiller
Call Number: HG 171 S52 2012
ISBN: 9780691154886
Publication Date: 2012
In this important and timely book, Shiller argues that, rather than condemning finance, we need to reclaim it for the common good. He makes a powerful case for recognizing that finance, far from being a parasite on society, is one of the most powerful tools we have for solving our common problems and increasing the general well-being.
Investing in Financial Research (eBook) by Cheryl Strauss Einhorn; Tony Blair (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781501730948
Publication Date: 2019
Every day, people around the world make financial decisions. They choose to invest in a stock, sell their holdings in a mutual fund or buy a condominium. These decisions are complex and financially tricky--even for financial professionals. But the literature available on financial research is dated and narrowly focused without any real practical application. Until now there's been a gap in the literature: a book that shows you how to conduct a step by step comprehensive financial investigation that ends in a decision.
Finance for Development (Print Book) by Barbara Stallings; Rogerio Studart (As told to)
Call Number: HG 185 L3 S83 2006
ISBN: 0815780850
Publication Date: 2006
In this innovative study, which provides the first book-length analysis of the Latin American financial sector, Barbara Stallings and Rogerio Studart examine the dramatic changes resulting from financial liberalization in the region.