There are various departments in the libraray that perform distinct functions. Please familiarize yourself with these departments so you can better answer patron questions.
Acquisitions
identifies and purchases books and periodicals for the library. Faculty library coordinators in each academic department regularly assist the library staff in selecting materials. Whittemore Library strongly encourages students to suggest additions to the collections as well.
Circulation
checks materials in and out of the library, handles renewals and overdues, and maintains the book stacks through shelving and shelf-reading. Reservesand Interlibrary Loan(ILL) are also functions of the Circulation Department.
Periodicals
maintains the library’s collection of magazines, journals, and serial sets, including microforms. No periodical may be taken from the library. They are to be used in the designated areas on the Upper and Lower Mezzanines.
Ella C. RitchieCurriculum Library
provides resources and services to support the Education and related programs at Framingham State College. It contains a special collection of trade books, textbooks, and other instructional materials for curriculum planning, lesson preparation, unit development, and assessment of students in the early childhood, primary, elementary and secondary levels.
Instructional Services
is a function of the Reference Department. Librarians conduct classes that introduce students to the library and to the services that it offers while also teaching students about the process of doing research using the materials available through the library.
Interlibrary Loan
is a function of the Circulation Department. It is responsible for obtaining items not owned by the Whittemore Library for Framingham State University students, faculty and staff. It also fulfills requests for materials in the Whittemore Library’s collection made by other institutions.
Reference
assists patrons in locating information and utilizing library resources. It administers Library Instruction classes and maintains the library’s collection of electronic resources. Items in the Reference Department Collection do not circulate.
Reserves
is a function of the Circulation Department. There are two types of Reserves: Closed Reserve, Overnight Reserve .Closed Reserve materials are kept behind the Circulation desk. Items may be borrowed for two-hour time periods and are not to leave the library building. Overnight Reserve materials differ from Closed Reserve in that they may be taken out of the building after 4 PM to be returned by 10:00 the following morning. On weekends items may be checked out at noon Friday and must be returned by 10:00 Monday morning.
Special Collections
consists of the College Archives as well as manuscript and book collections that reflect events and individuals connected to the college. Among the materials in the collection are books, photographs, and personal papers.
Technical Services
handles the cataloging and classifying of library materials. It also prepares newly received materials to be put on the shelves.
Electronic Resources Library/Digital Repository
handles all questions related to databases, EDS (Ram Search), e-books, the digital repository and copyright.
First Year Program and Student Success
develops library programing (events, surveys, statistics, data etc.) for first year students, partners with other departments on campus to ensure student success, oversees RamAnswers library chat service and works with the reference department
