Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles offer detailed, scholarly information, often reporting out the results of research. The Whittemore Library offers a wealth of journal articles - search in specific journals, or pull up articles from our subject databases.
Find Articles by Searching Databases
Search the book catalog and multiple (but not all) FSU databases at once.
Search Individual Subject Databases:
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Provides full-text indexing (from 1937) for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
In-depth, detailed reports about current news written by experienced journalists. Includes three pro-con debates; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
Contains academic journal articles, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and more.
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Use Article Linker to check if Whittemore Library provides full-text online access to a particular article.
Find Articles by Searching Specific Journals
Find Print Journals:
(Print, microfilm, or microfiche)
Selected Health Law E Journals at FSU
American Journal of Law & Medicine
"Covers health law and policy, to the legal, ethical and economic aspects of medical practice, research and education." (Description from Ulrich's.) Peer reviewed. Full-text access from 3/1/1975 - present.
American Journal of Public Health
"Articles of original research, research methods, program evaluations, analytic reviews, including health policy analysis and reports on health policy." (Description from EBSCOhost) Peer reviewed. Full-text access from 1/1/1975 - present.
Annals of Health Law
"Contains significant articles relevant to health law." (Description from Ulrich's). Peer reviewed. Full-text access from 1995 - present.
Food and Drug Law Journal
"Provides the actions of FDA, FTC, and USDA, how the courts interpret these actions, and the reaction of industry." (Description from Ulrich's). Peer reviewed. Full-text access from 1994 - present.
Guttmacher Policy Review
"Contains reproductive health policy-making in Washington, DC, and state capitals across the country. Covers all aspects of sexual and reproductive health policy, sexually transmitted diseases and maternal and child health etc." (Description from Ulrich's). Full-text access from 1/1/2006 - present.
Hastings Center Report
"Explores the ethical, legal, and social issues in medicine, health care, public health, and the life sciences." (Description from www.thehastingscenter.org) Full-text access from 7/1/1990 - present.
Health Law Journal
"Features articles relating to the practice of health law on various topics including HIPAA, nursing homes, managed care, mental health, medical ethics and long-term care." (Description from Ulrich's) Peer reviewed. Full-text from 1/1/2001 - present.
"Reports legal trends in health law." (Description from Ulrich's). Full-text coverage from July 1999 - present.
"Aims to advancing legal scholarship in the field of health law." (Description from Ulrich's). Peer reviewed. Full-text coverage from 3/1/1991 - present.
International Journal of Law and Psychiatry
"Provides a multi-disciplinary forum for the exchange of ideas and information among professionals concerned with the interface of law and psychiatry." (Description from Ulrich's). Peer reviewed. Full-text from 1995 - present.
Issues in Law and Medicine
"Provides technical and informational assistance to attorneys, health care professionals, educators and administrators concerned with the legal, medical and ethical issues arising from the provision of health services." (Description from Ulrich's). Peer reviewed. Full-text from 3/22/1989 - present.
Journal of Contemporary Health Law and Policy
"Contains analysis of a wide range of issues including trends in modern health care, bioethics, environmental law, constitutional law, family law, labor law, torts, medical practice, social policy and philosophy." (Description from Ulrich's). Peer reviewed.
Journal of Health & Life Sciences Law
"Dedicated to bring critical practical information that will help to advise clients in the world of health and life sciences law." (Description from Ulrich's).
Journal of Health and Biomedical Law
"Designed for health and legal students, professionals and academics. Aims to expand the base of health and biomedical legal resources and to provide information to the technology, health and biomedical industries in the greater-Boston area." Description from Ulrich's.
Journal of Health Care Law & Policy
"Covers current social and political concerns. Explores a separate topic of contemporary significance, and includes pieces from authors prominent in their respective fields." (Description from Ulrich's).
Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics
"Scholarly examination of policy and ethical issues at the intersection of law and medicine." (Description from Ulrich's). Peer reviewed.
Journal of Legal Medicine
"Publishes articles, comments and essays on topics of interest in legal medicine: health law and policy, professional liability, hospital law, food and drug law, medicolegal research and education, and the history of legal medicine." (Description from Ulrich's). Peer reviewed.
Medical Law Review
"Provides information for academics, lawyers, legal practitioners and all others interested in health care and the law." (Description from Ulrich's). Peer reviewed.
Quinnipiac Health Law Journal
"Provides a forum for discussion on both practical and theoretical issues in the field of health law and policy, biomedical ethics and medical-legal research." (Description from Ulrich's). Peer reviewed.
Yale Journal of Health Policy, Law & Ethics
"Provides a forum for the discussion of health policy, health law, and biomedical ethics." (Description from Ulrich's). Peer reviewed.
Find Articles by Searching Google Scholar
With with the search engine Google Scholar, you can find full text legal opinions from U.S. federal and state district, appellate and supreme courts.
You can also search in Google Scholar for articles in law reviews and scholarly journals.
Google Scholar is connected to Whittemore Library's databases, so an article from your search results should be available full-text from our library if you see and click on the link, "Find it @ Framingham State", to the right of the article.
Request Articles via InterLibrary Loan
Is there an article you need but neither the Whittemore Library nor the Minuteman Library Network has it?
If so, fill out our online Interlibrary Loan form and let our Inter-library Loan librarian find it for you.