Skip to Main Content

     

Henry Whittemore Library Frequently Asked Questions

Alumni

Borrowing Privileges
Alumni may obtain free borrowing privileges upon request.  There is a limit of three curriculum items that may be checked-out by the alumni.  There is no limit on the number of general collection items that may be checked out. The lending period is three weeks. 

Access to the Library
Alumni may obtain free borrowing privileges upon request. Once an alumnus receives a library card, he or she can access the Minuteman Library Network holdings through the Whittemore Library catalog.   

Reference Assistance
Reference librarians are available to help alumni:

  • Use the resources in the library, such as the online catalog, reference collection, some of the periodical indexes and databases, and the website.
  • Choose appropriate resources for a particular research topic.
  • Answer questions about the Library.
  • Assist in research.

The librarians provide various types of reference services.

  • Walk-in Reference: Reference Librarians are available to answer reference questions in the library during regular reference desk hours.
  • Telephone Reference: Please call 508.626.4653 to speak with a reference librarian.
  • E-Mail Reference: Reference questions can be sent via e-mail to: reference@framingham.edu. 

Access to the Article Databases
Alumni have access to the Library's electronic resources from the Minuteman Library Network. Massachusetts residents who own a library card can access other electronic databases that the state subscribes to by entering their library card number at http://mblc.state.ma.us/books/index.php.

Special Collections and Archives
The Special Collections and Archives at Framingham State University were established in the early 1970s in order to collect preserve and provide access to materials that reflect the history and development of the University.  Such materials include non-current University records, publications, photographs, manuscripts, rare books, and ephemera.
 
Some of our more prominent collections include:

  • Martin F. O'Connor Poetry and Travel Collection
  • Alumnae Ruth Graves Wakefield (1924) Cookbook Collection
  • Children's literature Collections
  • Archives Collection, particularly strong in the history of education and household economics
  • University Alumni and Faculty Collections

Our Manuscript Collections include:

  • early journals
  • letters
  • enrollment registers
  • papers and ephemera of the early graduates
  • The Christa Corrigan McAuliffe Collection. 

The Special Collections and Archives are open to researchers both within and beyond the Framingham State University community, Monday-Friday 9-5pm.  The Special Collections are housed in Room 110, while the University Archives are housed in Room 101 of the Henry Whittemore Library.

For more information, please contact the Archivist/Special Collections Librarian, Colleen Previte, at cprevite@framingham.edu.