LibGuides: American Sign Language & Deaf Studies: Find Articles and Journals

Reusable Ram Search Widget

Specific Databases

Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present.

General Research Databases

The general research databases can provide an excellent jumping off point, but don't forget to check databases specialized to your discipline as well! Use the Gale PowerSearch button, or one of the other general purpose databases listed below to get started on your research.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale’s premier periodical resource, Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. With extensive coverage in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology, researchers are able to find accurate information and articles in both PDF and HTML formats with ease.
Article First This link opens in a new window
FirstSearch navigates through WorldCat’s 498 million bibliographic records in seconds, connecting searchers to exactly what they need. Researchers and library staff can find and select resources in thousands of library collections with rich information from WorldCat records.

Magazines & Journals

American Annals of the Deaf - A professional journal dedicated to quality in education and related services for deaf or hard of hearing children and adults.

Print 01/01/1847 - 12/31/1973
Online (through Gallaudet) - 1847 - 1893

Deafness & Education International - Provides a forum for scholarly papers relevant to the education of deaf infants, children & young people. Original research on linguistic, educational, social & cognitive development, & on sign language, deaf culture & traditions, & more.

Database - 06/01/2004 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)

DSDJ : Deaf Studies Digital Journal - From Gallaudet University.

Online - 2009 - 2014

The Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education - Integrates & coordinates basic & applied research relating to individuals who are deaf, including cultural, developmental, linguistic, & educational topics.

Print - 01/01/2015 - present

American Sign Language & Deaf Studies

Google Scholar

Magazines & Journals

Reusable Ram Search Widget

Ram Search

Search for articles, books, journals, and more!

Specific Databases

General Research Databases

Magazines & Journals