Hospitality & Tourism Management Resources

• Pros:
  • Can be useful for interdisciplinary topics
  • Can see the list of databases searched, then choose a few specific ones to make a custom search
  • Can limit to peer-reviewed journals only
  • Defaults to finding only full-text results
• Cons:
  • Not able to search every database we have
  • Tends to be less precise, more like a Google search
  • Searches books, news and other stuff, too; may have to filter those results out
  • Defaults to finding only full-text results - you may miss citations that would be useful for assignments

• If you try this, use the advanced search page to get more precise searches

2) Multiple Ebsco Databases at once

• Pros
  • Search multiple databases that we get from the same company
• Cons
  • May have to make sure to leave out the newspaper and other non-relevant databases
• How to do it:
  • Go to any Ebsco database (e.g.: CINAHL Plus)
  • Look for the 'Choose Databases' link right next to the database name (above the main search box)
  • Click on the 'Choose Databases' link to see a pop-up window with list of every Ebsco database we have access to
  • Click the boxes next to any of the other Ebsco databases that would be useful for your search
    • E.g.: You might want to search both CINAHL and Professional Development Collection
  • Click the yellow 'OK" button at the top
  • Run your search

3) Multiple Gale Databases at once

• Pros
  • Search multiple databases that we get from the same company
• Cons
  • May have to make sure to leave out the newspaper and other non-relevant databases

4) Multiple ProQuest Databases at once

• Pros
  • Search multiple databases that we get from the same company
• Cons
  • May have to make sure to leave out the newspaper and other non-relevant databases