(Image by Bonce Studio/Canva.com)
March is Women's History Month! In 1987, Congress passed a resolution proclaiming March as Women’s History Month. The contributions and achievements of all women are celebrated through the month.
(source: https://womenshistorymonth.gov/about.html)
Women’s History Month celebrates the varied and unique life experiences of all women. Check out some of these links to learn more about some amazing women leaders, athletes, and artists:
To commemorate Women’s History Month, check out some of these resources available from the Whittemore Library and beyond!
Whittemore Library Women's History Month LibGuide: Find a wide variety of resources and links to research materials about Women’s History Month compiled by the Whittemore Library librarians.
Did you know that Framingham State University was originally founded as the Lexington Normal School, the nation’s first publicly funded women-only teacher’s Normal School? You can read about the early history FSU and some of the amazing women who attended the school on the Whittemore Library’s Archives and Special Collections website. Make sure to also check out the displays in the Whittemore Library, which feature information, photos, and artifacts from some of the notable women alumni of Framingham State University.
The Danforth Art Museum at Framingham State University is the home to the Meta Vaux Warrick Fuller Collection. Fuller was an American sculptor whose works highlighted the African and African American experience. FSU students, faculty, staff can visit the museum for free!
The Meta Vaux Warrick Fuller Database, coordinated by FSU Art History Professor Erika Schneider, provides information about and images from the Danforth’s collection.
Also at the Danforth Art Museum at Framingham State University, paintings by Framingham State alumna Jaune Quick-to-See Smith.
Our Academic Video Online database has a wide variety of films and documentaries available for you to watch on-demand. Check out some of these channels and playlists for a wide variety of films by and about women. (FSU login required.)
Our Kanopy video database’ Women's Studies Channel has a wide variety of films and documentaries that you can view. (FSU login required.)
Check out Know More: Women's History from WorldCat, the online search tool that connects catalogs from libraries around the world.
The ACLU has a Women’s History Month playlist on Spotify. Be sure to listen to this playlist for some great music by female artists in a variety of genres!
Check out some great poems for Women’s History Month at poets.org and MAPS: The Modern American Poetry Site.
Books available from the Whittemore Library (please note some titles are eBooks). Children and YA book titles compiled by Samantha Westall, Curriculum Librarian.
FICTION
NONFICTION
GRAPHIC NOVELS
CHILDREN’S PICTURE BOOKS
MIDDLE GRADE BOOKS
YA BOOKS
0 Comments.