LibGuides: EDU 999: Research and Evaluation: Articles for Your Literature Review

Getting Education Research Articles For Your Literature Review...

Getting More Full Text

Many of our databases make articles immediately available as full-text PDFs or text on webpages
If not, then use the 'Full Text Finder' link
Even if the database you found an article citation in doesn’t have the full text right there, click on this link to check for full text in other library databases
This means: DON'T limit to full text when searching our databases

pointing hand For database searching help, contact a librarian, or try these searching tips.

Top Databases for Education Articles

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Provides citation and abstract information from over 1,000 educational journals and related documents from the Educational Resource Information Center and educational symposium report literature dating back to 1967

NOTE: When checking for full text of ERIC results found via RamSearch, double-check for full text at the regular ERIC website (https://eric.ed.gov/) if RamSearch doesn't offer you the full text results.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collections I and VII; Search back issues of core journals (357 titles) in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a trusted provider of authoritative humanities and social science books and journals from more than 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science Direct has over 950 scholarly, scientific journals available.

Pros:
- Can be useful for interdisciplinary topics
- Can see the list of databases searched, then choose a few specific ones to make a custom search
- Can limit to peer-reviewed journals only
- Defaults to finding only full-text results
Cons:
- Not able to search every database we have
- Tends to be less precise, more like a Google search
- Searches books, news and other stuff, too; may have to filter those results out
- Defaults to finding only full-text results - you may miss citations that you would really want for your Lit Review

Pros
- Search multiple databases that we get from the same company
Cons
- Have to make sure to leave out the newspaper and other non-relevant databases

Pros
- Search multiple databases that we get from the same company
Cons
- Have to make sure to leave out the newspaper and other non-relevant databases

Pros
- Search multiple databases that we get from the same company
Cons
- Have to make sure to leave out the newspaper and other non-relevant databases

Browse journals by topic on our Journal Search Page
Search for a specific journal title on our Journal Search Page
Journals may be available from more than one source; journal coverage (years available) may vary
- We may get older issues from one source and current issues from a different source
- Some journals may have 'embargoes' (full-text delays) of up to one year
Yes, you can search within an individual journal
- There will be a search box somewhere (usually upper right) on the journal's main page
- Run a keyword or title phrase search there
Please request articles NOT currently available full-text at FSU by using our Interlibrary Loan Form

Google has a specialized search that allows you to limit your search to scholarly articles
- NOTE: There is no way to limit Google Scholar search results to be just peer-reviewed
- If you find a journal online, the journal website/home page should tell you if it is peer-reviewed or not
Follow the links (when available) on the right hand side of the results listing to retrieve full text of search results
Below each search result there is an icon of double quotes that links to citation information
Check FSU for full-text of citations found online: Run the complete article title as a phrase search in RamSearch
Request articles NOT currently available at FSU via our Interlibrary Loan Request Form.

1) Looking for the full text of articles

Search for a desired article that you know is not available full text at FSU by using the entire article title as a phrase search
- Type a double quote (") The complete article title, then another double quote (")
- Example: "Impact of Peer-Led Team Learning and the Science Writing and Workshop Template on the Critical Thinking Skills of First-Year Chemistry Students"
Article authors may make available a pre-print or final journal version of their article on their personal, departmental or institutional repository website (or sometimes on sites like ResearchGate)

2) Looking for the full text of others' dissertations or theses

Find the website of the degree-granting institution
Do a title phrase search in website search box to quickly see if they offer free full text via an open-access digital repository

FSU students can receive from other libraries, at no cost to themselves, copies of articles that are NOT available full text at FSU
While searching library databases, if our site does not have access to article full text, you will have an option to click a link to an ILL form that is already half filled out
- Complete that online form and submit it to request that article
- Don't forget to fill out the part of the form asking what is the date after which you do not need the desired article any more
- You will receive in your e-mail box either a link/password to retrieve your article, or an attached PDF
- We have no control over how quickly requested articles arrive, so plan accordingly
The library site also has a link to a blank ILL Request Form
- Use the blank version if you find a citation for an article online, can't get full text online or at FSU, and still want to get a copy
  - To use the blank ILL form, you need a library card number
  - If you do not have one, please the Circulation Desk at: (508) 626 - 4650 for more information

To find other theses and dissertations in your topic area...