LibGuides: Accounting Resources: Articles

Overview of Finding Scholarly Articles in the Whittemore Library

Scholars most often communicate about their work as well as collectively record their discipline's progress of knowledge creation by publishing articles in academic or scholarly journals. Sometimes they publish opinions, letters, and brief synopses of current work being done in their field, but most often they are publishing the results they have obtained from their research. Many of these research articles are 'peer-reviewed', which means the articles are checked and critiqued (as a form of 'quality control') by several of a researcher's peers prior to being officially published.

RamSearch
Since RamSearch allows you to search multiple Whittemore Library databases at once, delivering up results in every format (books, periodicals, videos, audio, etc.)., you can limit your search results to see just articles, and also limit to peer-reviewed articles. The results listings will provide either a link to full-text content, or to an inter-library loan request form.
Most of Our Databases Include Scholarly Articles
Most of our databases allow you to limit your search results to scholarly (or 'academic') articles on your topic, usually as a choice to one side, after you have run the initial search. Additionally, these databases may have an option to limit your results to see only peer-reviewed scholarly articles.
Also Find Scholarly Articles by Searching our ePeriodicals Directly
We have a page where you can browse, search by title, and access our many ePeriodicals (news, trade and scholarly publications). The page where you access a journal's issues often lets you search for your topic within that journal.
Google Scholar
Google has a specialized search that allows you to limit your search to scholarly articles. When full text is available online, there will be a link to it, on the right side of each result. When you can't get full text online, try requesting a copy via our free inter-library loan service!

Our Business Databases Most Useful for Accounting Topics

The databases listed below are particularly likely to be helpful for researching accounting topics.

NOTE:

541211 is the NAICS Code for Offices of Certified Public Accountants

8721 is the SIC Code for Accounting, Auditing, and Bookkeeping Services.

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate is Ebsco's largest database of Business resources. It includes over 1900 full text Business Journals, company profiles, interviews, market reports, and related video sources. Search Tip: You can search by NAICS Code, good for researching the accounting industry
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Business provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
This Database contains a variety of business resources including in depth information, analysis, and news on companies (useful for researching accounting firms), as well as in depth reports and analysis on industries. On top of this GBI provides access to over 4000 business publications.

Our Accounting Journals

Browse journals by topic on our Publications Search Page

This includes more than 400 accounting periodicals (news sources and scholarly journals), including the following subtopics:

accounting & tax
banking, finance, investing
managerial accounting
accounting education
business finance

Alternatively, Search for a specific journal title on our Publications Search Page

Journals may be available from more than one source; journal coverage (years available) may vary
- We may get older issues from one source and current issues from a different source
- Some journals may have 'embargoes' (full-text delays) of up to one year
Yes, you can search within an individual journal
- There will be a search box somewhere (usually upper right) on the journal's main page
- Run a keyword or title phrase search there
Please request articles NOT currently available full-text at FSU by using our Interlibrary Loan Form