Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HISTY 225 - Histography

Guide for Histography at Famingham State University

Recommended Databases - Finding Scholarly Articles

These databases are provided by the Henry Whittemore Library at Framingham State University. The databases listed below are best for finding secondary sources. If an article is not available in full-text through the Henry Whittemore Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan. Interlibrary loan for articles can take 5 - 7 days. See video below for how to interlibrary loan articles.

Tip: Historical Abstracts covers world history, exclusive of materials about the United States and Canada. American History & Life covers the United States and Canada. You can search both databases simultaneously by clicking the "Choose Databases" link above the search box in either database. A list of all the EBSCO databases will be displayed and you can select which database you would like to search simultaneously from there.

Boston Public Library eCard

The Boston Public Library offers many more resources for finding primary and secondary sources! To obtain an eCard follow the directions in the link below. The Boston Public Library eCard is available to anyone who lives, works, or studies in Massachusetts. 

The Boston Public Library offers resources for finding both primary and secondary sources.

Finding Books: Minuteman Library Network and eBooks

Search the Minuteman Library Network to find psychical books in the Henry Whittemore Library collection and libraries in the Metrowest. You can have almost any book in the Minuteman Library Network delivered to the Henry Whittemore Library.

The EBSCO ebook collection is a great place to find ebooks!

 

Searching Libraries in Massachusetts

If you want to broaden your search to almost all libraries in Massachusetts, you can search the Commonwealth Catalog! ComCat includes many large university libraries, like Umass Amherst and many of the Fenway Colleges.

Finding Books: Worldcat

 WorldCat allows you to search library catalogs world-wide. To request books you are interested in from WorldCat use Interlibrary loan