Skip to main content

Psychology Resources: Find Articles and Journals

Find Psychology related books, databases, and websites in this guide.

General Research Databases

The general research databases can provide an excellent starting point, but don't forget to check discipline-specific databases as well! 

Gale PowerSearch provides access to journal and magazine articles, reference articles, multimedia, and primary source information. When searching in PowerSearch check out the Topic Finder function to discover additional keywords. 

Google Scholar

Search for articles in Google Scholar. You can also find the link on the library homepage. GoogleScholar is connected to the library databases, so an article might be availabe full-text from our library if you see the link "Find it at Framingham" within the search results.

Psychology Databases - Focus Your Search Here

These databases are particularly helpful in psychology research.

Other Related Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Databases

Specialized databases that also contain psychology information.

 

How do I search in PsycINFO for articles that contain appended psychological tests?

Here are instructions from EBSCO:

"To locate articles that contain appended tests, add TM Appended to your search terms.

To limit to a particular published test (as mentioned in the “Tests and Measures” field), perform your search in the following way: TM Appended and TM “published test name”

For example, enter: TM Appended and TM Apperceptive Personality Test

This retrieves results for Apperceptive Personality Test(s) and limits to those that are appended."

Interlibrary loan

Full-Text Journal Finder

To find out if a journal is available online and full-text, search the Full Text Journal Finder.

E Journals & Print Journals at FSU

E-Journals:  
Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder
to link to the journal if it is available online
through a database and/or the publisher.

Print Journals   (paper, microfilm and microfiche):

To find a listing of where a print journal, magazine, or newspaper is located (either upstairs in the Periodicals Area
on the Upper Mezzanine (UM) or downstairs in the Lower Reading Room [LRR] one flight down from the main floor in the Lower Mezzanine).

1.  Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder  (see link above)

2.  For a list of F.S.U.'s print periodical holdings (paper or microforms), look for the F.S.U Periodical Holdings List, in the red binders
You can find those red binders in the Periodicals Area and at the Reference desk.  
 

3.  Search the MLN Online Catalog for individual periodical titles.
 

Key Statistical Databases