Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Login if You are Off-Campus
- Users who are off-campus will need to log in with their Blackboard credentials in order to access the databases and other resources offered by the Library. Students, faculty, and staff will be prompted to authenticate via Blackboard.
- If you are having trouble logging in with Blackboard, the Library may refer you to Information Technology Services for assistance.
Key Databases from the FSU Library
These databases have a strong topic concentration in computer science.
ACM Digital Library
ACM Digital Library provides access to full-text articles, abstracts and citations from publications in the Association for Computing Machinery journal, as well as conference proceedings and newspaper articles.
General Science Collection
Composed of over 200 journals – from highly specialized academic journals to general science-focused magazine – the General Science Collection provides coverage of all scientific endeavor, including such topics as computer science. Gale / InfoTrac database: [1980 to date]
Science Direct provides access to abstracts and full-text articles from hundreds of scholarly scientific journals as well as the latest scientific e-books and handbooks in many fields, including computer science.
Other Useful Science Databases
MathSciNet provides access to abstracts, citations and reviews of articles, books and journals in mathematical science literature. Includes a feature in which the user can track the history of influence through citations in a specific article.
How to Request Articles not Found in Databases
Key Databases from the Internet
Search for scholarly journal articles with the search engine Google Scholar. Google Scholar is connected to Whittemore Library's databases, so an article from your search results should be availabe full-text from our library if you see and click on the link, "Find it @ Framingham State", to the right of the article.
Full-Text Journal Finder
Many students are looking for journals in full-text online. The Full-Text Journal Finder can help you to determine whether the journal you are looking for has full-text access at the Whittemore Library. Type in the journal name or the first few words of the name to see if your journal can be found in full-text online.
E Journals & Print Journals at FSU
Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder
to link to the journal if it is available online
through a database and/or the publisher.
Print Journals (paper, microfilm and microfiche):
To find a listing of where a print journal, magazine, or newspaper is located (either upstairs in the Periodicals Area
on the Upper Mezzanine (UM) or downstairs in the Lower Reading Room [LRR] one flight down from the main floor in the Lower Mezzanine).
1. Enter the title of the journal you need
in the Full Text Journal Finder (see link above)
2. For a list of F.S.U.'s print periodical holdings (paper or microforms), look for the F.S.U Periodical Holdings List, in the red binders
You can find those red binders in the Periodicals Area and at the Reference desk.
3. Search the MLN Online Catalog for individual periodical titles.