It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education and Curriculum Resources
Guide to authoritative resources in the field of education and curriculum development.
Developed by E.T.S. (Educational Testing Service). Used for teacher licensing and certification in most states in the U.S (NOT in Massachusetts). These tests are also often used to qualify candidates for entry into a teacher education program. Check this site for information About the Tests; how to Register for a Test; Test Centers and Dates; test preparation materials, and more.
Gateway to statistical indicators of children's status in the U.S. gathered by 22 Federal agencies & by private research organizations, including data on their educational, econonmic, and social situation. Publishes "America''s Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being."
Gateway to the official statistical information produced by over 100 Federal agencies that provide data & trend information on a wide range of topics including education, economic and population trends, immigration and other data about trends impacting U.S. education.
Click on the tabs for "data tools," and "tables & figures," to access timely, authoritative, education related statistical data. Click on the tab, "Publications & Products," and look under, "Annual Reports," to access major statistical publications including, THE CONDITION OF EDUCATION, the DIGEST OF EDUCATION STATISTICS, INDICATORS OF SCHOOL CRIME AND SAFETY, and PROJECTIONS OF EDUCATION STATISTICS.
Published by the US Department of Education. To help policymakers and the public monitor the progress of education in the United States, Congress has
mandated that the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) produce this annual report.
Includes specialized reference materials, textbooks, activity & idea books, kits, games, videos, instructional technology tools, CDs, CD-Roms, DVDs, children's and young adult's books, and more. Pre-school through 12th grade level.
From the website: What works in education? The Best Evidence Encyclopedia (BEE) presents reliable, unbiased reviews of research-proven educational programs to help policy makers, principals, teachers and researchers, with links to summaries and complete reports in PDF format. Johns Hopkins University School of Education website.
Clearinghouse of educational programs, products, practices, and policies for K -12th grade based on the reviews of an extensive body of high-quality research. The goal of this site is to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions. U.S. Department of Education Institute of Education Sciences website.
Links to the new 2011 Massachusetts Curriculum Frameworks for English Language Arts and Literacy, and for Mathematics, both based on Common Core Standards. Includes side by side comparisons with the previous standards; literature review of research supporting the common core standards; examples of (desired) student work, and a Glossary of Terms.
Educational Standards promoted by the National Governors Association (NGA) and the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) for all state education systems in the U.S. These standards provide learning objectives for students in grades K-12 in English/Language Arts and Mathematics. Massachusetts adopted the Common core Standards 7/21/2010.
The Department is charged with the responsibility of insuring improved teaching and learning in all of the Commonwealth's public schools. Provides current education related news, school district data and directory information, school administrative and educator support services, including licensure, curriculum, professional development programs, MTEL, and educator preparation and job search services. Use this site to locate assessment/accountability information: MCAS, MEPA, NAEP, NCLB, AYP...
Established by Congress in 1980, the mission of the U.S. Department of Education is to promote student achievement and assure access to equal educational opportunity for everyone. Provides extensive links to the U.S.D.E.'s budget, national educational policy, standards, research, statistical data, teaching resources, grants, financial aid information, directory information, online services to students, parents, teachers and administrators, and to U.S.D.E. publications
LINCS continues to support and expand many of the programs, projects, and services initiated by the National Institute for Literacy. LINCS is a national dissemination, resource gathering, and professional development system, providing information on a wide variety of literacy-relevant topics, issues and resources. RE: National Institute for Literacy. Closed 9/2010. In collaboration with the U.S. Departments of Education, Labor, and Health & Human Services, promoted literacy in reading, writing, English language, computational and problem solving skills across the lifespan. Gateway to evidence-based literacy research, resources and publications; provides access to a centralized, comprehensive, internet-based database of adult education/literacy materials; and a directory of literacy programs at the U.S., state, and local level. See LINCS.
Professional organization for educators. Affiliated with the AFL-CIO. Founded in 1916 to represent the interests of classroom teachers. Covers Pre-K through higher education. Provides links to free full-text AFT reports and the most current issue of all AFT journals, magazines, and newsletters.
Professional organization for those involved in teaching reading and promoting literacy. Provides links to lesson plans, booklists, and a career center. IRA publishes the journals, Reading Teacher, Reading Research Quarterly, and the Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy.
Affiliated with the International Reading Association, the MRA is a professional organization whose purpose is to improve the quality and level of literacy in Massachusetts through the annual MRA state conference, awards and grants, professional development opportunities, and disseminating best literacy practices to educators through its publications, The Primer, and the MRA Connection.
Founded in 1926, the NAEYC is dedicated to improving the well-being of all young children, with a focus on the quality of educational and developmental services for children from birth through age 8. Provides free access to a discussion forum, a career forum, and the full-text of NAEYC position statements and articles in Beyond the Journal, an online supplement to NAEYC's peer-reviewed journal, Young Children.
Founded in 1921, the NCSS is devoted to social studies education at all levels, K-12 through higher education. It is an unbrella organization for history, geography, economics, political science, sociology, psychology, anthropology, and law-related educators. Provides advocacy and access to information about conferences, professional development programs, standards, awards and grants, notable book lists, classroom resources and curricula. Provides access to a number of NCSS email listsserves.
Since 1911, NCTE has worked to advance teaching, research, and student achievement in English language arts at all scholastic levels. Provides free access to the online newsletter, NCTE Inbox, to professional development programs, grants and awards, job search services, conference information, and links to related professional and government websites.
Professional organization for mathematics educators at all levels, elementary through higher education. Provides access to professional development programs, conference information, advocacy and news about issues of concern to mathematics educators. Free access to the full-text of standards, curricula and lesson plans, and to articles (PDF files) in the most current issues of its journals: Mathematics Teacher, Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School, and Teaching Children Mathematics.
Professional organization for educators, it is the largest labor union in the U.S.A. Founded in 1857, the NEA is committed to advancing the cause of public education. Covers pre-school through higher education. Good source of current information on education related news, legislative issues, working conditions, standards, certification, professional development, etc. Provides links to free NEA e-newsletters and RSS feeds.
Founded in 1944, the NSTA's mission is to promote excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all (elementary through higher education). Provides advocacy, access to information about conferences, professional development programs, classroom resources and curricula, and provides a free portal for pre-service and new teachers and a free discussion board. Free access to the full-text of standards, and reviews of books and curriculum materials.
U.S. National Center for Education Statistics directory. Use to locate information about public and private schools, colleges, universities & public libraries. Provides extensive links to detailed data about each institution with links to institutional websites.
"CURRENTLY OFF-LINE" (9/2013). CCSSO Directory of public schools in all 50 states, Washington D.C., U.S. Department of Defense schools, and schools in U.S. territories including Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Service provided by the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO).