Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Topic - Healthcare Administration

A guide to healthcare management resources, especially for those in the MBA Executive Health Care Management concentration and Master of Healthcare Administration programs.

CITATIONS: WHY?

  • The tradition of scholarly discourse (as well as Western traditions regarding 'intellectual property') requires you to correctly cite all information that you are using (that is not 'common knowledge') that has come from someone else
  • Failure (either accidental or deliberate) to correctly cite information obtained from others is known as plagiarism
    • Plagiarism while in school can lead to failing grades on assignments, for an entire course, and even to expulsion from the institution

CITATIONS: HOW?

  • Make use of the citation support offered by most academic databases
    • Many (but not all) of our databases will generate citations of search results for you to copy/paste
    • Google Scholar offers citations under each search result
  • Find and use a good Style Guide to check your citations (both the in-text / parenthetical citations and Bibliography/References at the end) prior to handing in your assignments
  • If you will be collecting and managing many citations, we strongly recommend that you find and use bibliographic management software
    • We recommend Zotero (a free, open-source bibliographic management software)
      • Allows you to collect/organize/store your citations and PDFs
      • Includes cloud-based back-up
      • Includes a browser add-on that allows you to add resources to your Zotero library while online
      • Includes a word processor add-on that allows you to add in-text citations and references with one click
      • See our zotero help guide
  • A Note about Online Citation Generators:
    • These websites allow you to enter a website URL, a D.O.I. or article title, etc., and then will generate a citation in your chosen format
    • They can be convenient, but beware of the following:
      • The generator may be free, but the site may attempt to upsell you on unnecessary paid services (Iike anti-plagiarism checks)
      • The free citation generator may - or may not - be using the most up-to-date version of your chosen format (e.g.: Using APA 6th edition instead of the updated APA 7th), so you will have to double-check that aspect
      • You will still have to (as always) double-check that your citations are correct before turning in your work
    • That said, try the Free APA Citation Generator (created by a Librarian and defaulting to APA 7)