Skip to main content

Topic - Healthcare Administration: Basic Info (Facts, Books)

A guide to healthcare management resources, especially for those in the MBA Executive Health Care Management concentration and Master of Healthcare administration programs

 

Finding Basic Information (Books, Facts)...

Search using your keyword in the Minuteman Library Catalog

  • Searches more than 40 Metro West libraries
  • To see books available only at FSU, limit your results to Framingham State University
    • To access print books, note the call number, then locate the book in the shelves on the Lower Mezzanine or Ground level
    • Check them out at the Circulation Desk
  • You can also limit to book type (print, digital, audio, etc.)
  • Request books not held physically by FSU by creating a Minuteman account, then using your library card number
    • That number is found as a barcode sticker on the back of your student ID
    • If you do not have that barcode, please stop by the Circulation Desk, or call them at: (508) 626 - 4650 for more information
    • You can request that print books held by other Minuteman libraries be sent here to FSU
    • You will be notified when the book has arrived so that you can pick it up
  • Minuteman Digital (Overdrive) books and audiobooks can also be borrowed (downloaded) using your library card number
    • You will need to install/use an app on your portable device to use these

  • Run your keyword search in RamSearch
  • Limit your search to 'books' (print books on site) or 'ebooks' available instantly
    • To access print books, note the call number, then locate the book in the shelves on the Lower Mezzanine or Ground level
      • Check them out at the Circulation Desk
    • To access ebooks, follow the link through to the online full text
  • Note: Ram Search does not search all the Minuteman libraries; shows just books owned by FSU
    • To find books in the entire Minuteman library system, search our catalog

Search the Credo Reference database

  • Authoritative essays from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and more
  • Find relevant articles using the main search box
  • Find Topic Pages for a quick overview
  • Browse the collection
    • By topic area
    • By alphabetical title
  • See a Mindmap (on general topics)
    • Good for brainstorming paper topics, especially for narrowing too-broad topics
    • The Mindmap contains follow-able links
  • Offers citation support (will generate the reference for your References / Works Cited page)
    • Look on the upper right on essays/articles for the quote icon
  • The Reference Room is on the 1st floor of the Whittemore Library
    • Located in the back left next to the Reference Desk and the two printer stations
  • Contains hundreds of authoritative encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases and more
  • Reference books do not circulate
  • A Photocopier is available next to the printers outside the Reference Room
  • The Reference Room is also the Silent Study Room - no noise allowed

Use WorldCat 

  • a service of the OCLC, Inc. global library cooperative
  • the largest library bibliographic catalog in the world

to find items in libraries near you

Run your search, then

  • Make sure that your zip code is in the 'Enter your location' area
  • You will see results of libraries near you that have that book / journal / other resource starting with the closest libraries
  • Always reconfirm that a library still has the item you are interested in by clicking on the library's name (a link) which will take you to the library's catalog
  • If you don't see the item clearly listed as being in their catalog, move on to the next closest library

If you succeed in finding a library fairly nearby that has the item you want, you can

  • Contact that library to find out whether you can go in person to use, copy and/or borrow the item
  • EASIEST: Use the citation information about the item to request it via FSU's Interlibrary Loan service

 

FSU's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Service

Suggested Books & Other Info Sources: