Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for Faculty

FSU Digital Repository

The Framingham State University Digital Repository was established to provide open, online access to the products of the University's research and scholarship, to preserve these works for future generations, to promote new models of scholarly communication, and to help deepen community understanding of the value of higher education.

For questions about the digital repository contact Abe Newell at anewell1@framingham.edu

Online Research Databases

The Library offers access to electronic journal and newspaper databases containing more than 15,000 titles in full-text. These databases are available in the Library, throughout the campus-wide network, and from off campus locations.

To access the electronic databases from off-campus, select a database and when prompted, enter your Canvas credentials.  If you experience problems with access email contact Abe Newell at anewell1@framingham.edu or call the student helpdesk at 508.215.5950. If you have questions about any of the resources that are available online, contact Abe Newell at anewell1@framingham.edu

DVD digitization

The Whittemore Library will assist faculty members to stream media required for use in their online courses. Physical media material that is not required for course content can be placed on Reserves. Digitized physical media streaming is for students enrolled in courses that instructors have requested the materials for. Streamed content can only be made available for student use once authenticated by the University’s learning management system. The Library subscribes to streaming media databases that included appropriate viewing rights. Faculty requests to convert DVDs to digital media for use in classrooms will be reviewed on a title-by-title basis for copyright compliance. DVDs to be converted must be owned either by Faculty, a department, or by the Whittemore Library.

Faculty will consult with the Library on how the content will be used in the online class. The Library will inform faculty about any copyright considerations. If the Library is able to secure a streaming copy, then this copy would be used instead of the DVD. The digitized content from the DVD will be uploaded onto Panopto and the link will be emailed to the faculty to provide secured access through the University’s learning management system.

The Library complies with U.S. Copyright Code and other related laws including but not limited to the Technology, Education and Copyright Harmonization Act (TEACH Act) and the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA).

Procedure

  1. Faculty will submit a request to convert their DVD to a digital format through the Request to Digitize DVD form.
  2. The Library will check its streaming video databases to see if there is a streaming version available. If a streaming copy is not available in the library subscription database and the Library is unable to purchase the streaming license, the Library will schedule a consultation with the faculty member to discuss copyright considerations for the Library to be able to convert the DVD to digital format. The consultation should include a discussion about the portion of the film that will be used, the pedagogical rationale, and fair use considerations.
  3. After the consultation, the Library will have two weeks to process the request.
  4. The instructor is responsible for posting the URL to the learning management system class site. Instructors must apprise students of copyright restrictions applicable to specific films, including but not limited to restrictions on capturing streamed content and distributing streamed content.
  5. All links to streamed content should be removed at the end of each semester or at the end of a specified period of time during the semester.